Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Music Legend Frank Zappa's Brother Bob Zappa To Release Second Book “Frankie & Bobby: The Rest of Our Story”


NYC - Following his critically acclaimed book “Frankie & Bobby: Growing Up Zappa,” music legend Frank Zappa's younger brother Charles Robert “Bob” Zappa is releasing a second book titled “Frankie & Bobby: The Rest of Our Story.”

Bob's first book, “Frankie & Bobby: Growing Up Zappa,” is poignant and insightful perspective on the life of one of the twentieth century's most provocative and intriguing musicians. This “coming of age” memoir provided readers with never before told stories about events that helped shape Frank's political, social, intellectual and creative development. The book begins with the brother's time in Maryland from the late 1940's until the summer of 1967 in New York City before Frank and the Mothers went on their first of many European tours. This fascinating account describes how the two brothers lived through, and handled, a series of events ranging from amusing to life threatening. It is a must-read for anybody interested in Frank's amazing life that only his closest confidant and brother, Bobby, can tell.

Bob's new book “Frankie & Bobby: The Rest of Our Story” picks up where the first volume leaves off... Says Bob, “For those of you who read my first book, 'Frankie & Bobby: Growing Up Zappa', thank you. I hope you enjoyed it and found that the information about Frank added to your understanding his complex and brilliant mind and his early development. This book tells the next chapter in our story. It's about how my brother and I continued on our separate but intertwined paths after his successful long running show, 'Absolutely Free' (sic), at the Garrick Theater in New York in the summer of 1967.

“When I decided to write the sequel to 'Frankie and Bobby: Growing Up Zappa,' I wanted to provide readers with more personal stories that would fill in gaps on how our lives intersected over the last decades of Frank's life. I also wanted to describe more about life in America during the Vietnam era and up to the present day to help set the stage for events that fans have wondered about for a long time. This time I added more about my own life's journey. I wanted to depict how Frank and I maintained our relationship because to me he was a 'regular guy,' except for his extraordinary life in the public eye. He was my older brother and best friend regardless of his talents, celebrity or public image. I think fans will find this aspect interesting and should help add a more human dimension to his image.

“There are also the episodes about Frank's own family - especially his wife, Gail - that try to explain their curious relationship and how she interacted with me and her own children. Of interest are how our mother, sister, and brother, and especially me, were kept from Frank's and his children's lives. The reasons for that are still unclear to my niece Moon and nephew, Dweezil.

“But I do end on a positive note by describing my reunion with Moon and Dweezil following Gail's death, after more than four decades of estrangement. 'Frankie and Bobby: The Rest of Our Story' provides new material that will help Frank's fans add some much needed pieces to the puzzle that is Frank Zappa.”

While there have been several books and documentaries about Frank Zappa, most have forgotten to mention that Frank often referred to himself as “a regular guy.” And that is one of the “driving forces” behind Bob's new book.

Says Co de Kloet, well-known radio personality and music producer in Amsterdam, “By sharing personal, sometimes extremely personal stories about his relationship with Frank, Bob gives us a clear view of that 'regular-guyness' quality, leaving the importance and impact of his brother intact. By not just focusing on Frank and giving us information about other relations and some of his own experiences, he puts Frank in a new and sincere perspective. I had a great time reading it and I hope it will do well. Over the years I had a friendship with Herbie Cohen, Frank's manager and business partner. He was at my farmhouse a few times and once when he was reading something in a book about Zappa, he smiled and said, 'It is always fun to read what people THINK really happened (in Frank's life) but they haven't got a clue.' Bob Zappa has! And that is what makes this book a must have.”

The book is also one of rejection, reconciliation and closure... As James Cohen: Zappanale Master of Ceremonies explains, “A memoir is more than recollection, it exposes a continuum of related events: Bob Zappa's 'Frankie & Bobby - The Rest of Our Story' is wisdom gained over time. Picking up where his first book left off, it focuses on Bob's adventures in the US and elsewhere - a Swedish university course in Deviant Behavior or a close brush with Soviet espionage. Bob's ultimate purpose of understanding how his alienation from his brother Frank's world developed, or was created, overshadows these episodes. Climaxing with a series of rejections relating to the passing of their mother Rose Marie and finally of Frank himself, Bob celebrates his subsequent reconciliation with Dweezil and Moon and a new life rooted deep in his past…A great read, and for the Zappa faithful, optimistic closure.”

Distinguished Teaching Professor Joseph Klein, Dmus concludes, “Perhaps most poignant are the episodes relating to Frank's own family- in particular his wife, Gail…during the final years of Frank's life…and (sheds) light on a matter that has baffled and frustrated the Zappa fan community for decades…'Frankie and Bobby: The Rest of Our Story' is essential reading for any Zappologist curious for answers regarding some of the more enigmatic aspects of Frank's life.”

Bob Zappa's “Frankie & Bobby: The Rest of Our Story” is a must-read for all fans of Frank Zappa!

To purchase “Frankie & Bobby: The Rest of Our Story”: 
https://www.createspace.com/6991665 (United States)
http://www.amazon.com/dp/1544258798 (United States)
http://www.amazon.ca/dp/1544258798 (Canada - Book not currently available in Canada)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1544258798 (United Kingdom)
http://www.amazon.de/dp/1544258798 (Germany)
http://www.amazon.es/dp/1544258798 (Spain)
http://www.amazon.fr/dp/1544258798 (France)
http://www.amazon.it/dp/1544258798 (Italy)

To purchase “Frankie & Bobby: Growing Up Zappa”:

https://www.amazon.com/Frankie-Bobby-Growing-Up-Zappa/dp/099647790X

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

A Symphonic Journey With Renaissance - Music Legends Renaissance Featuring Annie Haslam To Play Selected Dates With 10-Piece Chamber Orchestra!


Renaissance Fall 2017 US Tour!

Following their successful South American tour, Renaissance featuring Annie Haslam will be back in the US Northeast in October and November 2017 debuting their “Symphonic Journey” tour. This tour will include four very special concerts featuring a “10-piece Chamber Orchestra” (a handpicked assemblage of strings, woodwinds, brass, and percussion); October 26th at the Ridgefield Playhouse in Ridgefield CT, October 27th at the Keswick Theater in Glenside PA, Town Hall in New York City October 28th and The Egg in Albany NY on October 29th. These performances will be the first time in 40 years that Renaissance will perform on stage with a “live” orchestra and, in addition, 2017 marks the 48th year since the band's formation and its ninth consecutive year of touring since their reactivation in 2009.

Plans are currently being made for the group to film the October 27th Keswick Theatre show for an upcoming DVD release, which will follow the success of their 2015 London Union Chapel DVD. Additional tour performances without the chamber orchestra are currently being scheduled. A crowd funding campaign has been started to raise the significant funds to produce the new live DVD

For more information: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/renaissance-chamber-orchestra-live-concert-dvd

Renaissance leader and vocalist, Annie Haslam remarks, “The band keeps getting stronger and stronger and the addition of the chamber orchestra will be the most exciting event for the band in years. This addition of 'live' orchestral musicians will add an incredible dynamic to our big numbers like 'Mother Russia,' 'Carpet Of The Sun' and 'Song For All Seasons,' all of which included an orchestra on the original recordings.”

Ms Haslam will be joined on stage by long time musical associate Rave Tesar on piano along with Tom Brislin on keyboards, Mark Lambert on guitars, Frank Pagano on drums and percussion, and Leo Traversa on bass.

Tour dates:
Oct 26 - Ridgefield Playhouse - Ridgefield, CT Tickets RSVP (With 10-Piece Chamber Orchestra)
Oct 27 - Keswick Theatre - Glenside, PA Tickets RSVP (With 10-Piece Chamber Orchestra)
Oct 28 - Town Hall - New York, NY Tickets RSVP  (With 10-Piece Chamber Orchestra)
Oct 29 - The Egg - Albany, NY Tickets RSVP (With 10-Piece Chamber Orchestra)
Nov 01 - City Winery - Boston, MA Tickets RSVP
Nov 02 - Rams Head On Stage - Annapolis, MD Tickets RSVP

Renaissance is a band with a rich history unique unto themselves as progressive rock pioneers who rose from the ashes of the seminal UK rock band, The Yardbirds. Acclaimed for their unique blending of progressive rock with classical and symphonic influences, the band's career has spanned forty plus years spearheaded by the 5 octave voice of Annie Haslam and the masterful songwriting skills of Michael Dunford. They are widely considered to be the band that most successfully and routinely utilized the sound of a full orchestra in their recordings.

The band has toured throughout the world and has performed at Carnegie Hall with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and additionally at the Royal Albert Hall with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Royal Chorale Society. Renaissance had a top ten hit in the UK with their song Northern Lights that still demands airplay to this day.

Watch the recent Renaissance/Annie Haslam music video for “Cry to the World” (with Ian Anderson on flute!):


For more information:
www.renaissancetouring.com
facebook.com/renaissancetouring
www.anniehaslam.com
facebook.com/anniehaslamart

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Sunday, June 25, 2017

New Age Instrumental Review: Fiona Joy - Into The Mist (Audiophile Edition-SACD)

Release Date: June 2, 2017
Label: Blue Coast Records

Fiona Joy brings her magnificent solo piano work to the world once again. On her recent release and 10th studio recording, Into The Mist, she reaffirms the status gained over the years. Fiona and her piano create some of the more prolific music an instrumental artist of her leanings could possible produce year after year.

This is a difference this time however, this is an SACD and special audiophile edition. It was recorded live to Direct Stream Digital 256 Quad DSD. Using the 1885 Steinway Piano, Fiona brings the listener closer to the live off the floor experience. It is referred to as a nearly holographic experience in the liner notes. I must agree with that assessment. It is a rarity to hear a new age instrumental album in this format and it certainly was an indulgence.

The thing about this recording is that the flow is seamless and seemingly effortless. Of course, anyone that truly appreciates how difficult it is to be a professional musician and create an album can look at the big picture. At least I have come to realize and appreciate that more with each passing year. One track invites the next and by the time it is done, and way too soon, it was like listening to one progressive composition.

So, with those thoughts in place it is not hard for me to garner great appreciation for solo artists such as Fiona Joy. What makes her art so pronounced and prolific is the fact that it is just her and the piano. It is like the merging of a soul with an inanimate object that suddenly comes to life. Her quintessential life force and spirituality shines brightly through the ivory keys. It becomes up close and personal in the SACD format, almost as if the artist is in the same room performing. These attributes make it so crystal clear in sound as well is the fact that it’s only the piano with no accompaniment or additional audio enhancements.

Into The Mist settles in and takes up all of your personal space in the most positive and enlightening way. This music is meant exactly for that - its vibrations, waves of colors and emotions that are interpreted through the fingers of one talented lady.

I cannot say too much more; this is a must have recording for anyone that appreciates new age instrumental music influenced by contemporary classical. It is a perfect 5/5 stars.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 24, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
 

01. A Walk in the Park
02. Moon over the Lotus Pond
03. Opus: Into the Mist, Pt. 1
04. Opus: Mist Rising, Pt. 2
05. Opus: Mist Before Dawn, Pt. 3
06. Through Cloud
07. Feeling Sunshine
08. Grey Sky Morning
09. Galloping
10. The Void

 



Classic Rock Legends Spirit's Self-Titled Debut Album To Be Released On Limited Edition Hybrid SACD!


Includes 4 BONUS Tracks!

Marshall Blonstein's Audio Fidelity will be releasing Spirit's Spirit on limited edition hybrid SACD, which includes 4 bonus tracks! Spirit's 1968 debut album spent more than six months on the Billboard album charts and received heavy airplay on underground FM radio. Their music was part of the core, essence, and heartbeat of  the hippie, psychedelic, counter culture movement. The album is timeless, as fresh today as when it first appeared.

The band could play more styles than almost any other group. On Spirit they unveiled a mélange of rock, jazz, blues, folk-rock, and even a bit of classical and Indian music. The music is experimental. The vocals flow as easily as the instrumentals. Spirit struck a careful balance between disciplined studio chops, jazz improvisation, and driving rock and roll. Guitar prodigy Randy California is a clear standout, but the other band members are superb as well; John Locke's shimmering keyboards, Mark Andes' subsonic wall of bass, and Ed Cassidy's precision drumming. Big credit has to go to lead singer Jay Ferguson, whose phrasing is always just right with a wonderful spontaneous feel. The Marty Paich string arrangements are sublime.

The songs tackled unusual lyrical themes, like “Fresh Garbage” and “Mechanical World” while “Uncle Jack” showed some solid psych-pop instincts. And, it has long been debated if Led Zeppelin lifted the opening guitar lines of Spirit's “Taurus” for their own much more famous “Stairway to Heaven.”

This is an essential album if ever there was one, and it would prove impossible to trace any musical time line without the inclusion of Spirit, and in particular, this body of work.

“A true touchstone to the late sixties and the music of the times.”

TRACKS
Fresh-Garbage                  
Uncle Jack                      
Mechanical World            
Taurus                              
Girl In Your Eye                  
Straight Arrow                
Topanga Windows              
Gramophone Man              
Water Woman                    
The Great Canyon Fire In General
Elijah                              

BONUS TRACKS
Veruska                        
Free Spirit                      
If I Had a Woman              
Elijah (alternate take)    

Produced by Lou Adler
Mastered by Steve Hoffman
SACD Authoring by Stephen Marsh at Marsh Mastering

For more information: www.audiofidelity.net



Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Friday, June 23, 2017

Jazz-Rock Review: Project Grand Slam-The PGS Experience

Release Date: June 30, 2017
Label: Cakewalk Records

Project Grand Slam, who will be referred to as PGS from this point forward, has a new album coming out just before we celebrate the independence of our nation.

The PGS Experience is their latest installment of jazz-rock-pop fusion. I have always enjoyed their recordings and the all colors they paint with their sounds.

What you get with PGS is precision musicianship and a taste of the diverse array of music they can deliver. They even cut it lose on live cuts like “Gorilla,” which is appropriately titled. It is like a full-bodied cup of coffee that holds its taste to the last drop. Man, they just kill it live. As a matter of fact, I could take an entire album of live cuts like that, however you get four in total with five in the studio.  So pretty much an equal measure of both presentations. They have instrumental tracks, two with Ms. Mindi Abair on sax, and several with some outstanding vocals. They keep it going by jumping from one style to the next.

PGS knows how to give their listeners the entire spectrum of their musical cannon and man do they ever fire away! “The Queens Carnival” is excellent. It clocks in close to five minutes and they just cook right along. The sax drives the entire song. They also do some interesting covers of “I’m So Glad,” “Fire” and “You Really Got Me.” The vocals are what give the tracks some recognition for what fans are familiar with and they add their own stamp with a helping of fusion that transforms each classic tune into a funky jazz-rock workout.

If spice is the variety of life, then PGS is living it to the fullest. So, if you’re looking for something, fresh, diverse and full of energy then you need to check out The PGS Experience. It sure stoked my inner fires and left me wanting more. When it comes to enjoying music that is all anyone could possibly ask for.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 23, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Tracks: 
1. Metro Shuffle (feat. Mindi Abair)
2. Free
3. Fishin' (feat. Mindi Abair)
4. Hollywood
5. I'm So Glad
6. Gorilla (Live)
7. You Really Got Me (Live)
8. The Queen's Carnival (Live)
9. Fire (Live)


Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Legendary Violinist Darryl Way To Release New Concept Album/Rock Opera Called "Underworld"


London - Much to the excitement of prog music fans worldwide, legendary Curved Air violinist Darryl Way is releasing a new Concept Album/Rock Opera called “Underworld” on June 21st. “Underworld” is released in 2 versions: “Underworld Rock Opera Complete” which is the whole show with dialogue and narration and “Underworld Rock Opera the Songs” which just contains the songs.

Says Darryl, “Having touched on Greek mythology in my last album, 'Myths, Legends and Tales' I became fascinated with the idea of writing a major work based on one of these myths. Originally I was going to set Shelley's epic poem 'Prometheus Unbound' to music, but on further investigation it became clear that it was a little too 'epic' and too big a mouthful to bite off. Then the thought struck me of updating or re-imagining the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice and setting it in a period and environment that I was totally familiar with - the world of rock music and the 1970s. However, I felt a little uncomfortable with the idea of writing a musical, but then it occurred to me that it could be a rock opera, because it is 'song and drama' as opposed to 'song and dance' and with the addition of a narrator, it could be both a concept album as well as a theatrical production. So in my Underworld, Orpheus is now a rock megastar and Persephone, the queen of the underworld, a nightclub owner and drug dealer. The Asp that Eurydice falls victim to on her wedding day, is replaced by an equally fatal drug addiction. Glibly it could be described as a tale of 'Sex Drugs and Rock and Roll', but in essence it is a dark and powerful tale of 'Love, Betrayal and Revenge'. Underworld starts off gently with songs of love and longing but as the plot develops, the music darkens as we descend further and further into the murky realms, of the 'Underworld'.”
.
Originally formed in 1969, Curved Air was a groundbreaking progressive art-rock band renowned for their showmanship. Darryl Way was noted for his flamboyant virtuoso exploration of the electric violin. He wrote the music for the Top 10 hit (reached #4) “Back Street Luv” and was a major contributor to the 3 albums that made the Top 20. With Curved Air he toured extensively, performing in practically every major city in both America and Europe. Before becoming headliners themselves, Curved Air toured with Black Sabbath in the UK  and in the USA they toured with Deep Purple, Jethro Tull and Emerson, Lake & Palmer. They also appeared on the same bill as The Doors, Steppenwolf, B.B. King, Johnny Winter and Dr. John.

After Curved Air Darryl went on to release several critically acclaimed solo albums in both 'rock' and 'classical' genres. Among these, was his 'Concerto For Electric Violin', which was premiered on the South Bank Show with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and himself as soloist. He also performed  this concerto live on German television with the Bravarian Radio Symphony Orchestra and in England with the Northern Sinfonia. Darryl's collaborations include working with Sir Tim Rice, Sting and Gary Brooker (Procol Harum). In classical genres he has orchestrated Stewart Copeland's ballet “King Lear” for the San Francisco Ballet, and Stewart's opera “The Holy Blood and Crescent Moon”, premiered by the Cleveland Opera in the US. In 1996, Darryl's own opera “The Master and Margarita” was premiered at The Place Theatre in London. Alongside these projects, Darryl has also worked as a film and television composer.

As a violinist, Darryl has lead the London-based Electric Symphony Orchestra for concerts at the Royal Festival Hall, and lead and recorded with The Elektra Ensemble, performing classical and contemporary music. As a session musician, he has recorded with Jethro Tull, Sky and Marrianne Faithful. He has also played with the National Philharmonic Orchestra on film scores such as “Die Hard”, “Licensed To Kill” and “Baron Munchausen”. Recent work includes being musical director for the soprano Emma Shapplin, for a series of televised UNHCR concerts at the Parthenon in Athens.  Recent compositions include a Symphonic Choral work entitled “Siren's Rock”, premiered at the Plymouth Guildhall with the South West Sinfonietta, Opera South West, Naomi Harvey (WNO) soprano and Stephen Crook, tenor. During his illustrious career, Darryl Way has created and been a major part of over 20 commercially released albums. His most recent releases “Ultra Violins,” “Children of the Cosmos” and “Myths, Legends and Tales” have all garnered rave reviews worldwide! And now, he will be releasing his highly anticipated new album “Underworld”!

Featuring:

Singers
Orpheo: Graham Foote
Dice: Sarah Vaughan
Vincent: Bryan Walters
George: James Goodman
Cassie: Nicola Avino
Thia: Rachel de Cock
“Wanna feel alive again”: Cassie McIvor
Solo soprano in end music: Naomi Harvey
Backing vocals: Juliet Hopkins and Richard Mead

Dialogue
Narrator: Rob Wheeler
Vincent: John Guilor
George: John Guilor

Musicians
Violin and keyboards: Darryl Way
Guitars: Richard Mead
Drums: Pete Skinner

Produced by: Darryl Way

To check out the whole rock opera, complete with dialogue and narration, go to: https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/album/underworld-rock-opera-complete/id1232440489?mt=1&app=itunes
To check out the songs only, go to: https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/album/underworld-rock-opera-the-songs/id1236224422?mt=1&app=itunes

Both albums also available on Amazon:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Underworld-Rock-Opera-Complete-Explicit/dp/B0713XBWPJ
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Underworld-Rock-Opera-Darryl-Way/dp/B071VNZ39V

For more information: http://www.darrylway.com/ ;

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

World-New Age Reviews: Elise Lebec-Origin – One World Turning

Release Date: July 21, 2017
Label: Bay Area Film Company Inc.


Elise Lebec will be releasing a very ambitious album on July 21, 2017. Origin – One World Turning may very well be one of the most interesting and diverse world-new age recordings you will hear this year. This is a year of evolving world change and we desperately need healing. We all should be getting on the same wavelength as this woman is.

Typically, the music I hear for review is piano based instrumental, which is wonderful however it can begin to sound the same after a while. Any genre can. What Elise gave me was breath of fresh air, a recording so different and unique that I felt engaged and energized after listening. The difficulty in arranging and producing a project like this on a scale from 1-10 is without question a 10.

Her goal was to merge the male and female energies together with synergistic music that combines an Egyptian Middle Eastern base with a new age conceptual vision. And there a few songs that have a rap tempo, which is very interesting and something I have never heard before. This is in all a different language which makes it more thought provoking and provocative if you only know English.

Much of the music I enjoy has a cinematic quality and Origin – One World Turning has that value and substance. This is music that has nothing but potential, potential for a multitude of uses in the world of media and technology used for films and art presentations.
Elise Lebec combines the timeless traditions of an ancient civilization with her beautiful voice, which serves as the main instrument in channeling the Gods and Goddesses of a time long past. She brings them back to life however who is to say they ever left?

Origin – One World Turning epitomizes the spirit of indie music and the heart and soul of creative expressions. An excellent example of that thought is “Sekhmet: The Goddess Awakens.” It is very ear catching and it has the power of transporting you like any good track should. The exception this time is that it is a literal time machine that gives rise of a Goddess. Like a phoenix she rises from the ashes in a blaze of light. The music brings about these visions, which was surely the intent.

Elise Lebec has accomplished a great many things with Origin – One World Turning and mainly getting my undivided attention and interest from start to finish. Anyone with an open heart and mind will embrace this music as a new journey that just may provide a different outlook on a new day.


4.5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
June 20, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
1. Taaly Maaya: Come with Me
2. Queen of Light
3. Cairo Morning (feat. Sheikh Mahmoud el Tohamy & Mahmoud Abu Zaed)
4. Bolero (feat. Sheikh Mahmoud el Tohamy)
5.Rumi Song (feat. Mai Mostafa & Mahmoud Abu Zaed)
6. Sekhmet: The Goddess Awakens
7. The Jam: Luxor, Egypt
8. Sufi Dance (feat. Marv Ellis & Mahmoud Abu Zaed)
9. Hob Elahy: God Is Within (feat. Sheikh Mahmoud el Tohamy, Turon Davis & Mai Mostafa)