Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Instrumental New Age/Classical Review: Terry Lee Nichols-At Peace Beneath the Shade of My Father’s Tree

Release Date: August 19, 2016
Label: Heart Dance Records

Terry Lee Nichols first release has a very long and descriptive title. At Peace Beneath the Shade of My Father’s Tree is a great title actually, and if you look at that title and the cover of the CD, you can see a story. So without ever hearing the music there is something happening. I would have to say that is a very good start.

Terry said: “I tried to create a soundscape/film score backdrop that reflected specific events throughout my life.” That statement tends to put it all into proper perspective for the listener.

There are 17 tracks that move along at a brisk pace. It seemed like before I knew it I was on track 6. This is because I was really enjoying what I was hearing. Being swept away by the music and hearing the story narrated by all the instruments is a beautiful thing.

The title track opens the door to the great outdoors pictured on the cover of the album. The music ushers in the atmosphere and sets the tone like any good opener should. First impressions are everything when you are listening to an album. I have always believed when you open that curtain to your audience, you better make an impact real soon or you will lose them…Terry Lee gets the job done. He captivates you and captures your spirit and imagination. Personal experiences of joy and emotional pain bring about many things and music can be the universal translator.

“Timekeeper” clocks in, no pun intended, at 3:07 and the pace is like that of a watch keeping good time. The piano rolls along but ever so delicately while bringing the listener to the end of the line in the most intentionally gentle way. The ride goes by much too fast but you are so appreciative. Short and sweet, this track makes a good impression from start to finish much like all of its predecessors.

The musicianship is outstanding on this recording and it definitely is the kind of quality music you would hear on a grade A film. It also provides deep relaxation and a thought process that is more clear and precise than you could have during a busy day at work. It is not easy to empty out what is between your ears, and music such as this gives you carte blanche to do so.

I have heard such gorgeous instrumental music this year, it moves me, makes me reflective, grateful, happy, sad, reminiscent, basically the entire range of human emotion is prompted to rise within me and the music is my escort. That to me is the key to success with any recording.

“On My Way To See The Dancing Sisters Figg” is an upbeat track with Celtic World flavor with a nod to the classical genre however it ends up an amalgamation of them all and then becomes an instrumental new age masterpiece. It is a short jaunt coming in at 2:57 but I felt an injection of joy with a hint of the past smiling at me as it faded away. This was one of my favorites for its sparkling movements and how it changed my melancholy mood into joy in an instant. Once again the power of the music took me away and had a strong influence on my senses and reaction to the vibrations. 

“Sailing” is wonderful melody like a bright sunny day with a clear blue sky and I did just sail away with it. It also gave me the gift of freedom and spirituality. I always loved sailing on the lake with my father, god rest his soul. Joy with a hint of sadness is what I felt but the thoughts of freedom of the wind and waves gave me chills. It was all good so thank you Terry Lee.

At Peace Beneath the Shade of My Father’s Tree is real triumph for the maiden voyage of artist Terry Lee Nichols. Putting out something so inspired and precise for a first album is an amazing accomplishment. The future certainly looks bright for this gentleman.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: At Peace Beneath the Shade of My Father’s Tree, Timekeeper, On My Way To See The Dancing Sisters Figg


Tracks:
 

01. At Peace Beneath the Shade of My Father's Tree
02. Only You
03. Follow Me
04. Reflections
05. Appassionato
06. Timekeeper
07. Train to Dachau
08. Pamela's Time
09. On My Way To See The Dancing Sisters Figg
10. A Winter's Tale
11. Sailing
12. Crossroads
13. A Curious Life
14. Last Train Home
15. Autumn
16. Lullaby
17. Requiescat

 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
August 23, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Monday, August 22, 2016

Prog Ensemble Light Freedom Revival Drops Debut Single “Close Your Eyes And Feel”


Featuring Jamie Glaser of AndersonPonty Band!

Toronto, Canada - Exciting project Light Freedom Revival, based in Toronto, Canada, has just released its debut single titled “Close Your Eyes And Feel.” The project is led by Canadian singer-songwriter John Vehadija who is teaming up with the likes of Billy Sherwood, Oliver Wakeman and Eric Gillette for his highly anticipated upcoming album due for release this Fall.

Based on John’s interpretation of reunion, “Close Your Eyes And Feel” tells the story of a short-lived romance between a couple who discover that they were bound by their love in a previous life. Faced with the decision of accepting their interlocked souls or searching for a fresh start, the pair cannot resist their infinite compassion for one another. In the end, they are brought together once more to represent the power of history in every loving relationship.

John, who wrote the track, said: “This song stayed with me for a while, I had to get it out there!”

Accompanying John, who also performs lead vocals on the track, is Marisa Frantz (lead vocals and violin) who claims: “I love the final mix of the song. Very full sound. Nicely done.”

Jamie Glaser (acoustic guitar) added: “I wanted to get the right attitude, cuz it’s such a cool track!”

Phil Ockelford (electric guitar & bass), Eric Butterfield (drums), Aly Frank (piano & keyboards) and Artem Zhulyev (sax) also contributed to the single. Aly said: “The piano sounds very nice just on its own.”

The single EP contains the full studio track alongside four brand new alternatives, including acoustic, symphonic, remix and instrumental versions.

John explained: “The contrast between the symphonic and the remixed versions was chosen to symbolize the difference between the past and present lifetimes.”

These unique approaches not only showcase the astounding versatility of Light Freedom Revival but also bring the original melody of “Close Your Eyes And Feel” into thrilling new genres.

“Close Your Eyes And Feel” was mixed by John Vehadija, remixed by the Kinkades and produced by Positive Imagination Media.

Check out the fantastic single on iTunes and Amazon and keep up with Light Freedom Revival through their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/lightfreedomrevival and website: www.lightfreedomrevival.com.

To purchase Light Freedom Revival's “Close Your Eyes And Feel”:
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/ca/album/close-your-eyes-and-feel-ep/id1141393778?app=music&ign-mpt=uo%3D4
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Close-Your-Light-Freedom-Revival/dp/B01JTI6T2Q/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1470970302&sr=8-1&keywords=light+freedom+revival

Contact: light.freedom.revival@gmail.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Instrumental New Age/Jazz Review: Holland Phillips-Circles of 8

Release Date: August 26, 2016
Label: Ageless Records

Holland Phillips is set to release his fifth album titled Circles of 8
I was curious to know more about the artist, his process and what the title of the recording referred to. I received some good information from Holland regarding that.

Holland wrote all the songs and began by warming up on the piano at first which set the tone for the album. Usually he would have a set of ideas or tracks leftover from the previous release however this time he would start from scratch which makes this project even more compelling from where I sit. The correlation between the music creation and numbers is significant as well. 

Holland said this about the tracks: They came quickly, in sets of three over a period of about 8 weeks.  It wasn’t long before I knew what the album would feel like, and what the title of it would be.  As the album notes talk about, Circles of 8 is really an idea that revolves around the circles that we all experience, and that 8 is one of the fundamental vibrations of life as we know it.  Interestingly enough, at the same time that the album was being formed, I was cataloging all the recordings that I’ve done over the years – the total including the eleven that make up this album ended up at 96 – which, ironically enough, is 12 multiples of 8.

The production (with Ronnie Campbell), engineering (with Frank D.) synths, pianos and guitars where all completed by Holland along with the saxes by Paul Christensen. I certainly like to give credit where it is due with such an interesting and captivating recording. 
“Starting Over” is the perfect title to open the album considering all the processes he described. It is an ambient number that lets you relax and kind of just melt into the music like a big comfy chair. Then a different tone and atmosphere settles in with the following track “Night Tracks.” The gentle piano and tick tock rhythm of the synths sets the pace as each layer is added it gets more introspective and colorful. It is night when we all unwind (hopefully) and the world pauses to recharge their batteries to be able to face the next day’s challenges. Music like this does renew you.

“Stephanie's Song” is like a combination of new age and the quiet storm as smooth jazz lines come from the sax and keyboards are interspersed for an effective combination of texture and musical paint if you will. The canvas of your mind clears and you begin to rewrite the story your own way and create a masterpiece of serenity and joy. The atmosphere provided washes away the day.
I really appreciate the combination of jazz and new age fused together and not because they are two of my favorite genres but recognizing that they are close cousins, taking elements of the same foundation to build something special that you will not forget. I admire any artist that can take a blank canvas and create something so beautiful and that is exactly what Holland does on Circles of 8.

If you have ever given any thought from whence we came about our past in ancient times, then there is a track for you to reflect upon that. “Strains of an Ancient Past” is a slow burner that induces a contemplative state and in the same instance creates wonder and the sensations of floating and going back to another place in time when things were much simpler and made more sense. It is ironic in a sense that technology created the music that brings you back so far. There can be a lot to think about while listening, dependent on your state of mind however this music is meant to heal and relax. The harmonics are mesmerizing and allow all of that to happen with ease.

Circles of 8 is full of compositions that are both inspirational and spiritual, which is what I find in most music if I am willing to really listen and absorb it. It was easy to accomplish that with Holland’s music.

4/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Night Tracks, Stephanie's Song, Strains of an Ancient Past


Tracks:
01. Starting Over
02. Night Tracks
03. Stephanie's Song
04. The Journey
05. Strains of an Ancient Past
06. Save the Dance
07. Circles of 8
08. The Moment
09. Marking Time
10. Classic by Design
11. Lullabye for Us


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
August 21, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Financier by Day and Rock Star by Night!!!!

Lucky 13 with Heavy Metal Group “Halcyon Way”


HalcyonWay_logoChosen2Front man Steve Braun of the group Halcyon Way took time from his busy schedule to talk with us here at Nashville Music Guide and Lucky 13, giving us an opportunity to share with all our readers who they are and what they do.
Originally formed in 2001 by Jon Bodan the band is quickly making a huge name in the music industry. The name of the band came from a street in a neighborhood where Jon grew up. In the chaos of searching for just the right name it magically appeared one day as they drove past a road sign that immediately grabbed their attention. Jon kept holding on to that one name and it eventually stuck. In that moment “Halcyon Way” was born.
HW LiveBand members: Steve Braun – lead vocals, Jon Bodan lead guitar – background vocals and growls, Max Eve – Rhythm guitar and background vocals, Skylar Moore – bass, growls and Screams, and Aaron Baumoel – Drums represent what we might call Progressive Metal, Hard Rock, and/or Heavy Metal to an exception.
The band has toured over fourteen countries and have opened for Skid Row, Arch Enemy, and Saxon. Currently the band is focusing on the new album, “Burning The Summit”, which they hope to have available by mid spring of 2017 and excited about hopes of touring Russia in October. “Halcyon Way” shows no signs of slowing down in the industry but they do show the drive of becoming a thriving metal machine driving all the way to the top. The band has currently produced four albums world wide and have held positions on Billboard Heatseekers charts at #46 and the CMJ Loud Rock top 10. There is no stopping these guys.
SteveFighting a bombardment of obstacles like loosing band members, Jon battling a form of cancer called Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma, and just the normal every day life of a touring musician, the band has met the obstacles head on and remain focused on growing as songwriters, honing their own style and texture all the while staying true to the roots of progressive metal music.
Steve says he feels very fortunate to have had the opportunities available to him. He has toured the world over doing what he loves, writing and playing killer music. He believes in creating songs that people can relate to.
Each band member grew up with their own inspiration or influence on the music they want to play. From thrash to metal, to Dave Matthews and Britney Spears. The influence is wide and the creativity is powerful.
Billboard 2Steve was influenced particularly by a wide and diverse set of artists as he was growing up. Artist like Pat Benetar and Billy Joel gave a wide birth of range in the vortex of music he would soon create. Other influences like Tony Harnell and one of my favorites, Michael Sweet of Stryper played a huge part in his decision to continue his pursuit of rock music. He took over 15 years of classical voice lessons which have helped lead him to the distinctive, raw, and powerhouse voice he carries today.
The band recently signed a world wide management deal with Alpha and Omega Management and look forward to what the future holds in store.
columbiaA big shout out is needed for the amazing endorsements from Spector Basses, EMG Pick Ups, Framus Amps, Miktek Microphones, Gorilla Ear Monitors and Bryan Moore Guitars.
You can find all the goods on “Halcyon Way” at the links below. Don’t miss out on all the fun. Check them out today. If you haven’t caught a show your suffering. Ease your stress and anxiety and catch “Halcyon Way”…your troubles will be over.
Picture Credits: Steve – Ann Bodan Photography, HW Live – Stephane Harnish, Billboard – Allen Ross Thomas
Websites:
www.halcyonway.com
www.facebook.com/halcyonway
www.myspace.com/halcyonway
www.reverbnation.com/halcyonway

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Legendary CAN Vocalist Damo Suzuki Releases A New Live Album!


Los Angeles, CA - From Damo Suzuki, the innovative vocalist of legendary Krautrock group Can, comes this incredible live album recorded in the Purcell Room at Queen Elizabeth Hall, London 2007. Entitled Floating Element, this amazing concert recording captures Damo’s inimitable, improvisational singing in an unforgettable performance brimming with passion and fury. Joining the vocalist for a momentous collaboration is the Elysian Quartet, a classical string quartet, who weave their sonic textures around Damo’s haunting voice. Together these artists create one single, 76-minute musical masterpiece that both defies categorization and is utterly riveting! Available on CD as well as in a special double LP vinyl set.

Track List:
1. Floating Element (76:54)

Buy the CD: http://flyt.it/DamoSuzukiCD
Buy the vinyl: http://flyt.it/DamoSuzukiLP
Buy the digital version: http://flyt.it/DamoSuzukiDig

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com

New Age Instrumental Review: Bill Wren-Road To Chiang Mai

Release Date: July 26, 2016
Label: Independent

Bill Wren has a story for those who may be going through a tough spot in their lives and he gives you inspiration once you find out more about his life and music. Bill’s latest release Road To Chiang Mai was inspired by his trip to Thailand and finding his soul mate and starting a new life. This is a collaborative effort between several musicians and the two main composers Bill Wren and Frank Ralls.

The first track I had the pleasure of hearing was the magical trance like “Enchanted Kingdom” which was featured on our Rate The Tracks site. This is a magnificent and picturesque track that lifts you up and never lets you down. Of course the musicianship is beyond reproach and always timely and rhythmic, like the heartbeat of mother earth in sync with all living things.

“Harmonia” is another amazing and inspiring track. It sounds like a soundtrack to enlightening movie about traveling in some far away land and witnessing all the wonders you have never seen before. The blend of instruments creates a gorgeous wall of sound. The orchestration is what carries everything else in this track and it holds its head high like a noble warrior after victory.

Some of the instruments used are acoustic and electric guitars, cello, bass, live strings, mandolin, banjo, penny whistle, drums, piano and orchestral programming. It is a mind boggling variety of sounds and color splashes on the musical canvas that continually paints a masterpiece.

As Bill says “Music is the way I express what is in my heart without words.” And with that the Road To Chiang Mai is a direct link to your mind, body and spirit or in other words it goes straight to the heart and radiates out into the triangle of life. You can tell the artist is a gentle soul and the music speaks that with clarity and purpose.

“The Other Side” is a good example of the gentle touch within a track. Female vocals are added to give it a touch class and more of pop flavor than the other tracks however the orchestration gives it the necessary foundation to build the rest of the track. There is a certain element in every composition that the rest of the instruments float over and melt into and this one really stands out.

Road To Chiang Mai is a great album. I really appreciated all the elements that came together to make it such a wonderful music flight.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Enchanted Kingdom, Harmonia, The Other Side

Tracks:

 01. Enchanted Kingdom - (Feat. Frank Ralls)
02. The Other Side - (Feat. Frank Ralls)
03. Ponder Dust - (Feat. Ann Marie Calhoun)
04. The Beginning
05. Road To Chiang Mai
06. Harmonia
07. Journey Around The Sun - (Feat. Frank Ralls)
08. Longing - (Feat. Frank Ralls)
09. Memories - (Feat. Frank Ralls)
10. The Way It Was
11. Land Of Smiles
12. Today In Paradise
13. Ebb And Flow
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
August 16, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews


Tuesday, August 16, 2016

10cc/Godley & Creme Legend Kevin Godley Launches Official Website Feat. Rare and Unreleased Video and Audio Content!


Ireland - 10cc/Godley & Creme legend and renowned video director Kevin Godley has launched his Official Website www.kevin-godley.com featuring rare and unreleased video and audio content. The website comes on the heels of the release of his critically acclaimed autobiography SPACECAKE, an interactive e-book, available for download from iBooks at:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/spacecake/id976249225?mt=11
http://www.gg06.co.uk/shop/section.php?xSec=2

and his Ear Movie HOG FEVER (written by Godley and Richard LaPlante).
Available from:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hog-Fever-Episodes-1-5/dp/B016P21UGY/ref=sr_1_3_twi_audd_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1449013874&sr=8-3&keywords=hog+fever
http://www.amazon.com/Hog-Fever-Episodes-Full-Cast-Theater/dp/1504657101/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1449014251&sr=8-1&keywords=hog+fever
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hog-fever-episodes-1-5-richard-la-plante/1122581685?ean=9781504657099&quickview=true

Says Kevin about the new website, “Creatively I'm all over the place but, as of now, I'm all over the one place. www.kevin-godley.com isn't a museum it's a meseum. Music, film clips, drawings, facts, figures, histories and futures.”

Amongst the unreleased content found in the website is a fascinating new video of the classic 10cc track “Somewhere In Hollywood”. A brand new recorded track with French EDM producer LUKE MORNAY called “Expecting A Message” and “Fashion Aid” the fashion industry's contribution to Bob Geldof's unstoppable 1985 campaign.

KEVIN GODLEY is an English musician, writer, artist, inventor, and award-winning music video director. He was a founder member of Art Rock band 10cc and Godley & Creme. His music video credits include tracks by the Beatles, Paul McCartney, U2, Peter Gabriel, Sting, Keane, Eric Clapton, Alabama 3, Lou Reed and Hozier. He is also the founder of Youdio (WholeWorldBand), an audio/video music collaboration app.

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com