Friday, January 23, 2015

Progressive Rock/Metal Review: The D/A Method-Janissaries EP

Release Date: 24 December 2014
Label: Indie
While listening to The D/A Method and their EP Janissaries (that was dropped last Christmas Eve) I thought of bands like Opeth and Metallica and a few others along the way. It is like these bands had offspring and then there was The D/A Method.

Well let me tell you it works, and very well I might add. In three tracks they make their mark and I am certain if you like progressive rock and or metal you will love this music. 

This band of brother’s hails from Karachi Pakistan but they sound like they could be from New York or Boston, but that doesn’t matter because music is so universal. The only thing that separates them from where I sit is an ocean and a touch of their own culture within their music. 

If the world was like a gathering at a concert there would be world peace and harmony. No lines drawn in the sand and all prejudgments disappear in this world. I have been thinking about this a lot lately and when I heard that the band was from Pakistan it all came home to me in a heartbeat. Then they just blew me away and once again all those realizations about the beauty of music hit me square between my eyes.

The lead off and title track “Janissaries” is a killer 9 plus minutes of straight ahead progressive metal. It rocks, it stops, it starts, and then it takes you on a trip to the stratosphere of musical delight. When you hear the word EP you immediately think that it’s going to be short stay in the pleasure zone. The fact that this is prog makes it a worthwhile and a lengthy enough spin to leave you satisfied but wanting for more, which is a good thing too.

“Brave” (an excellent Katatonia cover) is over 6 minutes of hard rockin’ prog metal and Alvida Live at Satellite Recording Studios” and just shy of 5 minutes and it offers some nice passages of music influenced from their country and it again rocks and rolls its way into your heart. These days its 60 minutes plus for a regular release but this was so good that it did not disappoint at all in regards to the timeframe. I do want to hear more from this band without a doubt. The lead off track is hard to top but the succeeding tracks are solid and present the true colors of this promising band.

Give The D/A Method a good listen, I promise you won’t regret it.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Track: Janissaries

Tracks:
1.Janissaries
2.Brave (Katatonia Cover)
3.Alvida Live at Satellite Recording Studios 


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-Prog Rock Music Talk Founder
January 23, 2015
Review Provided By Prog Rock Music Talk

Thursday, January 22, 2015

Progressive/Holiday Review: Trans-Siberian Orchestra-The Christmas Attic LP

Release Date: October 21, 2014
Label: Audio Fidelity

Trans-Siberian Orchestra or what I like to refer to simply as TSO, have been one of my favorite progressive rock bands over the years for their original and engaging stories and amazing live shows. I have had the privilege of seeing them live twice and realized that was the only way to really appreciate this great band. They have accumulated a nice catalog of releases over the years as well.

Their second album The Christmas Attic originally released in 1998 was made available for the first time on this stunning 2 LP 180 gram vinyl set late last year by Audio Fidelity. Last year was also the first time they brought their recording to their lavish stage sets across the globe. I am sure it was a magnificent thing to witness.

For TSO it’s all about the visuals that go with music, or the visuals that dance to the music if you will. After growing up in the age of vinyl and seeing the digital world take over its meaning has become more important to many people including an entirely new generation ready to embrace the format. It’s is a nice thing to see happening. This is a gorgeous set with 2 sturdy 180 gram vinyl LPs remastered beautifully with a stunning and colorful 12 page booklet with all the lyrics and artwork housed in gatefold sleeves. Rock, progressive, and classical all intersect with a powerful punch throughout this release.

I think this band has reached its goal of providing a rock opera with progressive music many times over. By the time The Christmas Attic (the second of a trilogy) was released they had a successful formula that has grown and developed over the years into something far beyond what they could have imagined or hoped for.
Wherever you may reside on this planet you cannot help but feel the joy and wonderment of the Holiday season when you listen to music like this. If you are a fan of concept albums and interesting rock music you will simply love TSO and what they have to offer.

Packages like this are a treasure to behold in this day and age of multimedia and digitized delivery systems. You can hold it in your hand, admire it, and listen to the clean and warm purity of music set to a vinyl disc. I suppose it does help to be a fan of their music but you cannot deny the essence and meaning when it is presented this way. Audio Fidelity knows how to get it all right and they appreciate the best ways in which to release a classic album. Each and every track is important and they all fit together like a musical storybook should.

The Christmas Attic will hold you spellbound with its ebbing and flowing tides of energy, across the board you get all the atmospheres that could possibly be associated with such a story. Don’t miss out on this special numbered and limited edition release!

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: ALL

Tracks:
Disc One

SIDE ONE:
1. The Ghosts Of Christmas Eve           
2. Boughs Of Holly               
3. The World That She Sees           
4. The World That He Sees           
5. Midnight Christmas Eve           

SIDE TWO:
1. The March Of The Kings/Hark The Herald Angel   
2. The Three Kings And I (What Really Happened)   
3. Christmas Canon               
4. Joy/Angels We Have Heard On High       

Disc Two


SIDE ONE:
1. Find Our Way Home           
2. Appalachian Snowfall           
3. The Music Box               
4. The Snow Came Down           

SIDE TWO:
1. Christmas In The Air           
2. Dream Child (A Christmas Dream)       
3. An Angel's Share         


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck-Prog Rock Music Talk Founder
January 22, 2015

Review Provided By Prog Rock Music Talk



Wednesday, January 21, 2015

10th Anniversary CD Reissue & First Time Vinyl Release Of The Landmark Pink Floyd Tribute Album Back Against The Wall!


Los Angeles, CA - In 2005, Purple Pyramid Records released one of the most ambitious and extraordinary undertakings in music history, a monumental gathering of progressive rock superstars including members of King Crimson, ELP, The Doors, Jethro Tull, Yes, Toto, Styx and others who came together to recreate Pink Floyd’s epic art rock opera, The Wall! Produced by the multi-talented Billy Sherwood and dubbed Back Against The Wall, the project garnered tremendous praise and earned its place among discerning fans of both Pink Floyd and the prog rock genre as a whole. Now, 10 years after, on January 20th Purple Pyramid proudly presents a 10th anniversary re-issue of the CD set featuring all new artwork and 5 bonus remixes. Plus, for the first time ever, this amazing recording will be available on vinyl in a deluxe gatefold jacket 2LP set! Don’t miss this opportunity to be a part of rock music history - get Back Against The Wall!

To order the 2CD set: http://geni.us/EfM
To order the 2LP vinyl set: http://geni.us/Fsk
To download on iTunes: http://geni.us/1tWf

DISC 1
1. In The Flesh? feat. Adrian Belew, Alan White & Steve Porcaro
2. The Thin Ice feat. Ian Anderson & Tony Levin
3. Another Brick In The Wall Part 1 feat. Steve Morse & Billy Sherwood
4. The Happiest Days Of Our Lives feat. Billy Sherwood & Vinnie Coliauta
5. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 feat. Fee Waybill, Ronnie Montrose & Mike Porcaro
6. Mother feat. John Wetton, Adrian Belew & Alan White
7. Goodbye Blue Sky feat. Steve Howe & Billy Sherwood
8. Empty Spaces feat. Billy Sherwood & Robby Krieger
9. Young Lust feat. Glenn Hughes
10. One Of My Turns feat. Tommy Shaw
11. Don’t Leave Me Now feat. Tommy Shaw & Robby Krieger
12. Another Brick In The Wall Part 3 feat. Steve Lukather & Tony Levin
13. Goodbye Cruel World feat. Billy Sherwood & Tony Levin

DISC 2
1. Hey You feat. John Wetton, Steve Lukather, Tommy Shaw & Alan White
2. Is There Anybody Out There? feat. Adrian Belew & Billy Sherwood
3. Nobody Home feat. Rick Wakeman
4. Vera feat. Tommy Shaw & Steve Howe
5. Bring The Boys Back Home feat. Billy Sherwood & Jay Schellen
6. Comfortably Numb feat. Chris Squire & Alan White
7. The Show Must Go On feat. Adrian Belew & Vinnie Coliauta
8. In The Flesh feat. Billy Sherwood, Steve Porcaro & Vinnie Coliauta
9. Run Like Hell feat. Jason Chefe, Dweezil Zappa & Tony Kaye
10. Waiting For The Worms feat. Billy Sherwood, Tony Levin & Vinnie Caliauta
11. Stop feat. Billy Sherwood
12. The Trial feat. Malcolm McDowell
13. Outside The Wall feat. Billy Sherwood
BONUS TRACKS
14. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 (Electro Remix)
15. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 (House Remix)
16. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 (Radio Remix)
17. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 (Dub Remix)
18. Comfortably Numb (Blackburner Remix)

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com

Featured Track: The D/A Method-Janissaries

The D/A Method hails from Karachi Pakistan and however far you may be away from where they reside, there is no distance between them, listeners, and their own brand of progressive rock. Music is universal like that, its makes us one world, a union of souls with a love for music.

With their recently released taster EP Janissarieswhich is the focus of this feature, they serve up over 9 minutes of rockin' progressive diversity. I think if they were looking to show what they bring to the table this was a good choice.

The track features marvelous instrumentation, an ever changing pace and fantastic vocals. It's the whole package. This clearly defines progressive rock in every way.

MuzikMan Rating: 5/5 

 
More About The D/A Method:
https://www.facebook.com/TheDAMethod

The D/A Method are:
Umair Dar
Talha Alvie
Usama Siddiq
Istvan Csabai

The D/A Method is a progressive rock band from Pakistan. With its members having spent significant portions of their lives in both Pakistan and the West, the band combines influences from classic rock, grunge, and metal with a touch of traditional Pakistani flavor to create their unique, progressive sound.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Stoned - A Psych Tribute To The Rolling Stones - 14 Shining Stars Of The Neo-Psych Scene Reinterpret Classics From The Rolling Stones!


Includes performances by Clinic, The Vacant Lots, Celestial Bums, Allah-Las, Pure X, The Tulips, Tashaki Miyaki, and more!

Los Angeles, CA - EVERYBODY MUST GET STONED!…Dylan declared in ‘66 just a year or so after The Rolling Stones got their initial hit of major commercial success with arguably the most addictive song of all-time “(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction.” It was their first international #1 single, and a high they would chase (and catch!) for the next 4 decades as they would go on to create one of the most mind-blowingly potent canons in modern music. But if you think you've plumbed the depths of the Jagger/Richards pharmacy, just wait until you hear what the newest psych rock junkies do to these well-known tonics. From The Vacant Lots’ stimulating take on “She Smiled Sweetly” to Clinic’s hallucinogenic version of “I Know It's Only Rock & Roll (But I Like It),” these young bands take Stones classics to places they’ve never been before. The full album entitled Stoned - A Psych Tribute To The Rolling Stones featuring 14 tracks will be available everywhere starting January 20 from Cleopatra Records.

The Allah-Las, like many of the bands featured here, dug deep into the Stones vast catalog for their cover of the 1963 gem “Stoned.” Meanwhile, Barcelona quartet Celestial Bums declared, “We are very honored that we got the chance to do that since for us The Rolling Stones is probably the best rock band in history. We chose ‘Child Of The Moon’ for being quite an unknown song that at same time has an amazing essence of their psych period.” L.A.-based trio Tashaki Miyaki shares, “Covering a song by such a legendary band was a bit daunting. We delved a little deeper into the Stones catalog to find something less heard that would compliment our band's sound. ‘Take It or Leave It’ seemed like the right vibe.” Of course, more well-known songs such as “Sympathy For The Devil,” “Gimme Shelter,” and “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” also got the psych remake treatment with astounding results. Available on both CD and vinyl, Stoned - A Psych Tribute To The Rolling Stones has the cure for the musical boredom that ails you!

1. Lorelle Meets The Obsolete - What A Shame
2. The KVB - Sympathy For The Devil
3. Shiny Darkly - Under My Thumb
4. Yeti Lane - Sway
5. Clinic - It’s Only Rock & Roll (But I Like It)
6. Sons Of Hippies - Gimme Shelter
7. The Vacant Lots - She Smiled Sweetly
8. Celestial Bums - Child Of The Moon
9. Tashaki Miyaki - Take It Or Leave It
10. Allah-Las - Stoned
11. Pink Velvet - (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction [CD ONLY]
12. Pure X - Beast Of Burden [CD ONLY]
13. Cheval Sombre - As Tears Go By
14. The Tulips - Wild Horses

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com

Metal Review: Jørn Lande and Trond Holter-Dracula Swing of Death

Release Date: January 27, 2015
Label: Frontiers Records
Jørn Lande is one of hard rock’s most prolific artists. With over thirty albums with varying projects, his voice and range are among the most versatile in the industry. His newest album, Dracula Swing of Death is a journey into the dark and light that haunts men’s souls and the legend behind the conflicted individual we knew as Dracula. Both in stories and in history Dracula was a figure both feared and loved for his fierce determination and vicious cruelty. Join Jørn Lande on vocals, Trond Holter on guitar, Thomas Bekkevold on bass and Christian Svendsen on drums as Jorn brings you Dracula Swing of Death.

If I were going to imagine a rock opera based on the myth and legend of Dracula, I could think of no better voice to go with the hard rock version than Jorn and his band. The gripping vocals and intense musical imagery brings the listener deep into the sometimes misunderstood world of Dracula. If you follow the legend, Dracula was a warrior for Christ until the one person he loved the most was taken from him in an act of betrayal so foul he sold his soul to the devil. His goal? Make every son and daughter of God pay for his misery. Add that to music and you have Dracula Swing of Death. 

The album opens up with the historic “Hands of Your God” where the scene is set. Brazen guitar work and raw vocals give voice to the despair and frustration Dracula experiences as his love is taken from him and a new chapter of his undead life is born. Bitter, blood dripping, no holds barred revenge is on the menu and no man, woman or child is exempt from his sights. The sound set is brought to life with the airy crashing of waves and thunder. The clang of bells and an old fashioned guitar sequence lull the listener into the story and all the rage held within. Scrabbling for his existence, Dracula consumes humanity. It is a judgment day filled with Hellfire.

The second piece on the album is one of the more widely known songs. “Walking on Water” sees Dracula embracing his new role as the purveyor of death and immortality. Darkness has taken him. There is no soul left and nothing save for the rage consuming him from within. Wearing the devil’s mark, he promises damnation for all. The grinding vocals give a shiver down the spine as the true face of evil begins to emerge, purely shameless in his glory and grandeur. 

As the album progresses, a story is told, ending finally with “Under the Gun.” Doomed by his temptation Dracula despairs of his endless path as he is joined by a female vocalist. Love and blood join as a shadowy romance eternal in darkness push the couple on their jagged path through guitar riffs and a beat that will haunt your dreams.

This album was like watching a movie. All the great elements of the perfect show are all right here. Impassioned characters fighting against their fates, love, darkness and some kick ass music to fall into. If this album were a drink, it would be a salted caramel mocha. Salty and sweet at the same time, with a hidden punch that livens the blood. Jørn Lande and Trond Holter have outdone themselves with this production and any horror lover is going to want to have this in their collection. Dracula fan that I am, I fell in love with the cinematic nature of the vocals and the strong instrumentation behind it. There is a swing in this album to be sure, just watch the turns on the dance floor…you might slip in a pool of blood.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Walking on Water, Hands of Your God, Under the Gun  

Tracks:
01. Hands of Your God
02. Walking on Water
03. Swing of Death
04. Masquerade Ball
05. Save Me
06. River of Tears
07. Queen of the Dead
08. Into the Dark
09. True Love Through Blood (Instrumental)
10. Under the Gun

 
DanaWright, Sr. Staff Writer
January 19, 2015
Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Sunday, January 18, 2015

Rock Fusion Review: Dave Matthews Band-Recently – Two 10” 180 Gram Vinyl EPs

Release Date: November 28, 2014
Label: Legacy

For the vinyl lovers of Earth, Record Store Day is an amazing time filled with limited edition vinyl releases from some of our favorite bands. And not only do we get one day in April, but we get a second day on Black Friday. The Dave Matthews Band has been a part of Record Store Day for a few years now, releasing their Live Trax series in chronological order. However, on Black Friday 2014, DMB rolled out a very special 10” 180 gram vinyl edition of their first EP Recently, along with a second disc containing the hard to find “Pumpkin Recently” Promo EP. It comes in a gatefold jacket with the two different covers, and you will find a download code on the inside so you can get MP3 version of the music as well. A nice little surprise, considering this may be one of the only ways fans will get the Promo EP in any form.

Although many of the songs found on the EP can be heard on their debut album Remember Two Things, there is still plenty to be enjoyed from here from fans and collectors alike. For instance, there are two different edits of the title track. There is a radio edit of “Tripping Billies” that chops nearly 4 minutes off the Remember Two Things version, but still retains what I would consider essential listening material, including Carter Beauford’s phenomenal drum skills. Intimate acoustic versions of “Warehouse” and “Dancing Nancies” show these tracks in some of their earliest incarnations before making the big time on DMB’s major label release Under the Table and Dreaming. Finally, explosive versions of “All Along the Watchtower” and “Halloween” showcase the raw talent of the band even in their earliest days.

Aside from being a cool collector’s item (and the easiest way to snatch up the rare Promo EP), DMB’s vinyl release of Recently is an incredible value. Two 180 gram 10” records, a nice gatefold jacket, an MP3 download code, and over 40 minutes of breathtaking music make this an item fans shouldn’t miss. The price may seem a bit steep, but it is well worth it.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Halloween, Tripping Billies,  Warehouse

Tracks:
Original EP
01.Recently (Edit 2)
02.Dancing Nancies
03.Warehouse
04.All Along the Watchtower
05.Halloween

Tracks 2 and 3 are live acoustic versions performed by Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds.

Promo EP
01.Recently (Radio Edit)
02.Ants Marching (Radio Edit)
03.Tripping Billies (Remember Two Things Radio Edit)
04.The Song That Jane Likes (Radio Edit)

 
Austin Hannaleck-Write A Music Review Contributor
January 18, 2015

Review Provided By Write A Music