Friday, December 9, 2016

Amp/Guitar Demo: Marshall Class 5 and Gibson Les Paul Standard

Thursday, December 8, 2016

Emerson, Lake & Palmer Legend Greg Lake - RIP - December 7, 2016


London, UK - Legendary Greg Lake sadly passed away on Wed. Dec. 7th. As a founding member of King Crimson and Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Greg Lake has been a major force in music for over 40 years. He has long been considered a legendary voice and musical powerhouse whose impact changed the landscape of rock and roll. Many simply refer to him as “The Voice”.

Greg was just finishing his autobiography titled “Lucky Man”, which is  scheduled for release in 2017.

Says his long time manger and friend Stewart Young, “Yesterday, December 7th, I lost my best friend to a long and stubborn battle with cancer. Greg Lake will stay in my heart forever, as he has always been. Despite his illness which he knew to be terminal he always took the view about his life, career and family that he was indeed a lucky man... His family would be grateful for privacy during this time of their grief. Many thanks.”

Website: www.greglake.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/greg.lake.14

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, December 7, 2016

RnB Music Artist/Producer Binky Womack, Nephew of Legendary Bobby Womack, Releases New Album “Womack Style”


Featuring guest appearance by Snoop Dogg! 

Los Angeles / London - “Womack Style” is the latest album project from Binky Womack, a member of one of the most iconic music families of all time. Nephew of music legend Bobby Womack, Binky's new album is released through Gonzo Multimedia UK.

Binky has his own studio in Burbank, California (The Ear Hole Recording Studio) and acts as a producer to many top line artists. He also has a publishing company, Bindelari Music, which is represented by World Domination Music for the world excluding North America. Bindelari is also the vehicle for new acts such as Jae, as well as Binky's own material.

Binky Womack Song Writer, Musician, Producer, Remixer and now Artist & Performer, as well as part of the Womack Musical dynasty.

Says Binky, “I've been in the game for a while Producing Tracks for Various Artists. My Offices are in Burbank Ca. Available for all aspects of production, credits include but not limited to: TuPac, KID Frost, Baby Bash, Snoop, Bobby Womack, George Clinton, Rapn4Tay, E40, Korn, TLC, Remixes Usher, Biggie Smalls, Prince, Edens Crush, Baby Face, Smokey Robinson, Eminem, Westside Connection, Jae, Lil One Hunnid, Sir Royalty, Killion, Steezy, Young Ace, and more. Film and TV: 12 Corazones Doce Corazones, America's Next Top Model, Beauty Queens Gone Wrong, Quiero Mi Boda, Kojack, Dance to Win, Road Dogs, Scrubs, etc. My recording history also includes being the guitar player on Womack and Womack's recordings.”

The majority of the songs on “Womack Style” are originals by Binky Womack and with all instruments being played by him and overall production in his hands, this is truly “Womack Style” music. The musicianship is of the same high quality that we expect from any song/production from the Womacks and Binky's guitar work is outstanding. All tracks are available for licensing, sync and covers. Also, the track “When You're Wrong” is being pushed by Kings of Spins.

Here's a brief synopsis of each track from Binky himself:

1. Sunday Morning - Has the spirit of an old Soul groove like Wilson Pickett Midnight mover infused with Melodic Rock Guitars licks. With Soulful Vocals crooning to regaining a lost love after an explosive break up

2. Just Enough - Is something for the ladies. Its another great song, a Soulful Ballad. It's the feeling of a Bobby Womack classic as Binky delivers the Womack Style vocal feel. A story that says to the listener being with you is just enough I don't need much more than that.

3. Nobody Loves Me Like You - This is authentic Womack from top to bottom. The delivery, the soul, the harmonized vocals, it's all in there. This is a great tribute to Sam Cooke. the Womack Brothers and all the soulful singers that paved the way.

4. Me And My Guitar - Tells the story of a young Binky Womack living through the separation of his parents and how his Uncle Bobby Womack gave him a guitar to help him cope with the life ahead. Bluesy Soulful celebration of making it with a guitar as a best friend.

5. Malibu Nights - Is a Jazz piece. Skilled Saxophone and Guitar highlight the story of two lovers celebration of beauty and being in love on the Beaches of Malibu California USA

6. Love Addict - Features Snoop Dogg. Uncle B  can be heard crooning nicely in the background vocals. A funky Groove with seductive lead vocals deliver a confession of a lovers addiction for his partner.s body. Snoop Dogg caps it off with a classic 32 bars of west coast greatness

7. Must Be Nice - R&B at it's finest A slow smooth seductive tale of when love works out  right.

8. When You're Wrong - Folk rockish groove Binky Womack & Bobby Womack went into the studio and recorded this future classic piece the original was sang by Bobby Womack and written produced and performed by Binky Womack but we had to go back in and remove Bobby Womack's lead vocal and replace it with Binky Womack due to the confusion concerning the rights to Bobby's vocal performance.

9. Gravity - John Mayer remake, Binky Womack is a huge fan of John Mayer. He writes classic timeless material and he has so many great songs, I had to pick one to redo. I chose Gravity because there is always gonna be some one who's worked so hard risking loosing the things that matter most. The love of a good woman and the struggle to maintain walking in the light and staying out of the darkness that success can bring forth

10. I'm In Love – This song was written by Bobby Womack in the 70's it's been a hit for Wilson Pickett, Aretha Franklin and a hit for Bobby Womack on 2 albums. Binky Womack speeds up the tempo and delivers it to a new generation of first time listeners. This is a destined to top the charts

11. Love Is -  A bluesy Rock n Roll punch to the face. Binky pulls a Prince move playing drums bass guitars keyboards and covers all the vocals. This song is everything opposite of “Must be nice” - Fast Loud and head banging.

12. Put Something Down On It - Also a single gaining Rock N Roll radio play and Rock video TV exposure, this song bangs heads. Screaming Guitar licks over a solid funk track laid back vocal verses enhance the story line if you want my love Put Something Down on it.

Binky will be involved in the  Memorial Tour for his late uncle, Bobby Womack and his set will include favorites from Bobby's pen as well as new material from Binky.

To purchase: http://www.gonzomultimedia.com/product_details/15984/Binky_Womack-Womack_Style.html

World Domination Music Ltd is an independent full service music publisher with representation throughout the world. Our roster of writers and catalogue administration deals cover a wide range of styles, genres and languages.

Please contact David Buskell at World Domination Music for more information about this project:
World Domination Music Ltd.              
“Woodlands “, 52 Upper Selsdon Road, South Croydon, Surrey,CR2 8DE.
Tel: +44 (0)20  8657 5565 Mobile: +44 (0)7702 695 136
Email: worlddominationmusic@yahoo.com
Website: www.worlddominationmusic.biz

Gonzo Multimedia Ltd is a major independent label and distributor, specialists in progressive rock and pop, psychedelic rock and more, with partners throughout the world.

Press inquires: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Americana-Folk-Contemporary Review: Doug Hammer-Americana

Release Date: November 1, 2016
Label: Dreamworld Productions


Doug Hammer’s release Americana was released on a significant day of the year. November 11th is to honor our veterans, those that have served and given the ultimate sacrifice.

The album in its entirety however is a tribute to all the music that explores our country’s legacy and heritage. It is about some of the building blocks and spirit that makes our country great.

I recently talked to a Servicemember of the Reserves and he said “You can’t ever tell an American that something is not possible.” If you have a dream and are willing to work hard to reach it, then the opportunity will present itself when you are ready to receive it. I honestly take that to heart and have lived it many times over during my life.

There are many great tracks on this recording. In fact, I cannot think of one that I did not enjoy. Highlights for my listening pleasure were “The Good Old Days,” “Americana” and “Battle Hymn of the Republic.”

Americana has arrived at the right time for us all. We need to unite as one nation to be strong and resilient.  Most people will easily recognize these tracks. Doug presents 18 tracks and the melodies and rhythms that are familiar will stir emotions and feelings with many listeners. It did for me. The first being that my father was a veteran of World War II. He had emotional scars that would never heal, nor any of us in the family could understand. I also served many years ago but was fortunate to never witness the atrocities of war.

This music will help heal the souls of those that love this country or have lost a loved one serving and in the same instance those that love music in general will have plenty here to appreciate. Doug is a very talented composer and musician. He takes these classic songs while leaving their original melodies intact and infuses them with his own variations, energy and spirit thereby making them his own beautiful interpretations through piano, synth and orchestrations. There are some variations of course that are easier to detect when listening to an instrumental. Without the focus needed on vocals, it is straightforward. He uses a lot of different ideas and brings them to life within the music but you do recognize the songs.

In regards to vocals there are tracks that have them and serve a very good purpose. “The Good Old Days” is a wonderful song. My wife and I often talk about those days gone past when life was so much simpler and we didn’t have all the complexities of technology and society. As much as we would like to go back, we need to embrace what we have and move forward to the future. We want to be a part of the solution, not the problem; some good advice I heard long ago that has stayed with me and will until the day I die. “Shenandoah” is also a beautiful track with the voices of Mia (fiddle) and Ariel (cello) Friedman.

Music like this will give you hope, the chills of good feelings that run up your spine, and most of all gratefulness to be living in freedom and experience the wealth that life gives us daily. We would not have any of that if it wasn’t for thousands of brave men and women that were willing to fight for us to keep it. 

I believe in our country and I believe in the music of people like Doug Hammer. He says it all so well on Americana. This is some heartfelt thanks from a grateful man willing to share his respect and love for his country and to tip the hat to those that served and still do so we can live like we do.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: The Good Old Days, Americana, Battle Hymn of the Republic


Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
December 5, 2016

Tracks:
01. The Spirit of America
02. Americana
03. Yankee Doodle
04. The Star Spangled Banner
05. Battle Hymn of the Republic
06. God Bless America
07. America the Beautiful
08. The Good Old Days
09. My Country 'Tis of Thee
10. Heartland
11. Shenandoah
12. Simple Gifts
13. Taps
14. Elegy
15. Redemption
16. The Water Is Wide
17. The Dream Is Alive
18.Sunnyside Rag
 
br>

Friday, December 2, 2016

Guitar Legend & Johnny Winter Protege Paul Nelson Releases New Album “Badass Generation”


Los Angeles – Much to the excitement of guitarists worldwide, guitar legend Paul Nelson has released his new album “Badass Generation” to critical acclaim! Grammy winning guitarist Paul Nelson was Johnny Winter's protege guitarist in the Johnny Winter Band.

Paul has toured with countless worldwide touring artists and performed live and or on recordings along side major artists such as Johnny Winter, Eric Clapton, Billy Gibbons, Ben Harper, Leslie West, Robben Ford, Joe Perry, Mark Knofler, Brian Setzer, Dr. John, Slash, Vince Gill, Warren Haynes, Sonny Landreth, Los Lobos, Kim Wilson, Elvin Bishop, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Reb Beach, Steve Morse, John Popper, Debbie Davies, Los Lobos, Quin Sullivan, Tinsley Ellis, Lucky Peterson, Joe Louis Walker, Derek Trucks, Susan Tedeschi, John Medeski, Joe Walsh, Larry Carlton, Steve Vai, Earl Slick, Hubert Sumlin, Pete Rivera, Rick Derringer, Harvey Brooks, Bill Evans, James Cotton, Magic Slim, Coco Montoya, Uptown Horns, Blues Brother Horns, Reese Wynans, Edgar Winter, Ray Davis, George Lynch, James Cotton, Anthony Jackson, Dickey Betts, Junior Brown, Pat Travers, Jimmy Vivino and La Bamba of Late Night with Conan O'Brien and Paul Schaefer's CBS Orchestra to name a few. With appearances on David Letterman and Jimmy Kimmel programs.

Paul Nelson has been featured in every major guitar magazine and news publication from Guitar World to Rolling Stone and is credited as being a composer/performer for music heard on international and national television broadcasts such as NBC, TNN, UPN, for the WWE. He has conducted his successful “Master Class” Clinics and written guitar columns all over the world.

Paul has had the distinction of appearing as both guitarist and songwriter on Rock/Blues legend Johnny Winter's Grammy-nominated Virgin/EMI release “I'm A Bluesman” as well as producer/performer on his releases “Roots” and the Grammy winning “Step Back” on Megaforce/Sony. He performed as a musical guest with Johnny Winter on the Late Night with David Letterman Show to promote the “Roots” album and on Jimmy Kimmel on ABC TV to promote the “Step Back” CD and Johnny Winter's “Down and Dirty Movie,” which he also appeared in and was the Executive Producer.

Nelson, who studied with Steve Vai in his Berklee days, jazz fusion great Steve Khan and Mike Stern has created a tour de force with his last all-instrumental rock/fusion solo release, “A very diverse package that takes the listener on a sophisticated journey through the musical mind of Paul Nelson. Boundless energy, and displays ferocious solo sections at the same time showing us his control over an emotional side of playing all the while holding it together with a tasteful melodic sense which comes through on each cut.”

Paul's latest CD on Sony Music Group entitled “Badass Generation” has received rave reviews worldwide; calling Nelson “One of today's Top Guitarists”!

“What else can we say about Paul Nelson except - Chops Deluxe.” - Guitar World Magazine 

“He's a soulful player who has chops to burn. The word 'ferocious' comes to mind, or 'take no prisoners'” - Vintage Guitar Magazine 

“Love this album - the sound and the energy. Gorgeous, searing guitar work. Like a blow torch!” – Wall Street Journal

Recognized as one of music's top guitarist/songwriter/producers Paul Nelson continues his musical journey recording and touring the world over. Nelson was not only guitarist to legendary rock/blues icon Johnny Winter but is recognized in his own right as one of today's premier guitarists. “Johnny definitely took me under his wing,” Nelson remembers his late friend and mentor. “The blues world does that. One musician hands another the torch, and then you run with it. Johnny took pride in turning me on to the likes of Robert Johnson, T-Bone Walker, Muddy Waters Delta, Texas and Chicago blues - all the music that he loved. I knew what he was doing for me, and I am really appreciative of that.”

Nelson performed on and produced “Step Back,” a posthumous, star-studded affair, pairing him on recordings with Eric Clapton, Billy Gibbons, Joe Perry, Ben Harper and many others, earning both Nelson and Winter Grammy Awards for “Best Blues Album” in 2015. Nelson still feels the loss of his friend and mentor. But he also recognizes that new creative endeavors are ahead.

The formation of The Paul Nelson Band and the “Badass Generation” album marked the next step in that evolution. Nelson's new project still maintains an unmistakable connection to the blues, but it also finds the guitarist showing his other musical dimensions, from hard-edged, uncompromising rock and blues to acoustic-driven singer-songwriter fare.

“The Paul Nelson Band rocks. Period. Like the debut albums of Aerosmith or Van Halen, this self-titled debut is hot with licks that are in service to the song. That, right there, puts it a cut above. Nelson's sparkling electricity spills out of his guitar like Blues/Rock on Steroids. Singer Morten Fredheim is a find! Paul Rodgers ain't got nothin' on this guy! Nelson is razor-sharp, crystal-clear and punctuates the proceedings with a kick and a grin. This band can’t help but be huge.” - Goldmine Magazine

On this album Nelson and his newly formed band skillfully incorporate an array of sounds and styles, with what Nelson's fans know to be his calling card: remarkable, world-class virtuosity on the guitar - what you might expect of someone who was also taught by six-string master Steve Vai. “This project has so much input from all of the different styles of music that have influenced me and my band, from blues to classic rock to jam band, pop rock and more. I wanted to play the guitar to serve the songs – and not the other way around. Everything I create has to fit in with the music,” says Nelson.

Nelson's handpicked co-conspirators include vocalist Morten Fredheim, who turned heads topping the European edition of “The Voice”, bassist Christopher Alexander; and Chris Reddan on drums. Gov't Mule keyboardist Danny Louis also makes a cameo appearance. The collective result is something that’s musically rooted in the classic era of Led Zeppelin, Free, Bad Company, Skynyrd, Tom Petty, Allman Brothers, Aerosmith and ZZ Top – but right at home with a fresh new take in the 21st century. “We got together and painstakingly worked out these songs before we recorded them. The caliber of the musicians in this band is inspiring” Nelson explains.

Nelson is eager to begin this new stage of his career with his band mates. Songs such as “Keep It All Together” with Fredheim's soaring vocals, and Nelson's classic guitar sounds to “Goodbye Forever”, with it's infectious groove and chorus and “Please Come Home” displaying emotional melodies and soulful slide guitar work, all which are among the few future stand out classics found on this album. “I want our music to touch many people in the same way it did us in the making and performing of this album,” says Nelson. His only regret? That his old friend wasn't able to sit in on a few of the tunes. “Johnny Winter's influence will always be a part of me,” he says. “There are many times when I pick up my guitar, and I feel his music. I know he's with me in a way, but I also have influences from so many other places. Have I now spread my wings? Absolutely. I'm a musician. I have to keep on writing and performing and never stop.”

The album's title “Badass Generation” says it all! The music on this latest recording speaks to today’s generation's quest for something new and this band's music does just that, through great song writing and musicianship making for one great musical ride!

ARTIST TRAILER: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOoK3hnTZDM&feature=youtu.be

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/Paul-Nelson-221214511250923/

ARTIST WEBSITE: http://www.thepaulnelsonband.com www.paulnelsonguitar.com

ALBUM ORDER LINK: http://www.amazon.com/Badass-Generation-Limited-Digipak-Nelson/dp/B017VORJFQ/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-50-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Anderson / Stolt - 'Invention of Knowledge' submitted for Grammy consideration


The much heralded partnership of Anderson/Stolt, featuring Prog Icon Jon Anderson (Yes) and Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings) resulted in the release of the critically acclaimed album 'Invention of Knowledge' earlier this year.  The album marked the return of Jon Anderson to the sound he created with the legendary group Yes.

InsideOut is pleased to announce that the album has also been submitted for consideration in the following categories for the 59th Grammy Awards.  Nominations will be announced Dec 6th.

Album of the Year

Best Rock Album

Best Recording Package


Catch up on the album's singles "Knowing" and "Know" here:





ANDERSON / STOLT online:
facebook.com/AndersonStolt/
twitter.com/Anderson_Stolt


INSIDEOUTMUSIC online:
www.insideoutmusic.com
www.youtube.com/InsideOutMusicTV
www.facebook.com/InsideOutMusic 
www.twitter.com/InsideOutUSA
www.insideoutmusicshop.com/


INSIDEOUTMUSIC Spotify Playlist:
http://smarturl.it/TheProgPortal Roie Avin

US Digital Marketing / Publicity for InsideOut Music
Ph: 754-888-4380
roie.avin@royalavenuemedia.com

Jon Anderson press inquiries: 
Glass Onyon PR,
Ph: 828-350-8158,
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, November 28, 2016

New Age/World Review: Micki Free-The Native American Flute as Therapy

Release Date: October 28, 2016
Label: Mysterium Music
Music created by those who have mastered the Native American Flute are in command of something very special. The Native American Flute as Therapy by Micki Free is clear about what you are getting right from the start. This is a guided meditation by the artist Micki Free with the sounds of the flute, running streams, and a guide to another state of consciousness, including a short explanation of each track telling exactly what certain elements can accomplish.

For instance, the track “Lavender Kiss,” goes through a short dissertation on the uses of Lavender and what it can treat, depression and anxiousness to mention a few. I found the entire presentation as one of the most original and different I have had the pleasure to enjoy and experience. “Lavender Kiss” is not a typical track however; the flute is consistently soothing and leading the way, while the other instrumentation is an acoustic guitar and organ. It is like modern rock interspersed with the flute. Two worlds intersect nicely to allow a crossover audience to consider listening.  I personally appreciated the track quite a bit. The title track serves as one of the keys to unlocking the gifts in this music as well.

Based on my past experiences listening to any new age or world music, I would have to say that this unique. That is not a word I use lightly or very often when discussing music that I listen to. I thought the sound of running water was a bonus to the sounds of the flute. That is one sound that always soothes us. It is from where we came and eventually return. Your spirit will connect with this music quite quickly if you allow it to happen. For me, it was a natural transition.

I listen to a lot of music every year in the new age and world genre and The Native American Flute as Therapy by Micki Free will be an experience you will not forget and certainly will have a reason to revisit.

The package comes with 2 CDs, a video DVD, an extensive behind-the-scenes booklet, and a generous helping of music and meditations.

4/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Lavender Kiss, The Native American Flute As Therapy

Tracks:
 01. White Candle Light
02. The Healing Bath
03. Lavender Kiss
04. The Native American Flute As Therapy
05. Positive Energy
06. Feet & Toes
07. Essential Oils
08. Jasmine Rain
09. Sacred Sage
10. Heart Release (Peregrine Lane)
11. Down By The River
12. BONUS MIX: Heartbeat Meditation Yoga Mix
 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
November 28, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews