Friday, September 30, 2016

The King Of The Honking Sax BIG JAY MCNEELY Returns With A Brand New Set Of Recordings!


Los Angeles, CA - Before Jimi Hendrix, before Elvis Presley, there was Big Jay McNeely honking and squealing on his saxophone, wowing audiences with a stellar, energetic live show that often found him writhing around on his back or jumping into the middle of his enthusiastic audience, all while never missing a single beat! McNeely is truly the last of a generation of blues/R&B musicians who inspired the early rock pioneers, and are still around to remind us where popular music came from. Now, McNeely has teamed with Cleopatra Records to present this special album of 5 brand new recordings plus a handful of classics from the ‘50s & ‘60s called Blowin’ Down The House - Big Jay’s Greatest & Latest. This collection will be released on the Cleopatra Blues imprint September 30 on both CD and vinyl!

Big Jay McNeely’s incredible career began in the ‘40s and saw him play with several major R&B and blues legends of the late ‘40s and early ‘50s such as Little Richard, B.B. King, Etta James and Jr. Wells. He scored his first major hit with the 1949 smash hit instrumental “Deacon’s Hop” and scored again with a R&B vocal ballad “There’s Something On Your Mind” featuring Little Sonny Warner. He pioneered the flamboyant playing style called “honking” and is widely acknowledged as one of the first musical entertainers to make showmanship an important element of the live concert experience. His music continues to be an important signifier for that early era, earning McNeely gigs at major festivals both here and abroad as well as having his music featured in the 2013 Sean Penn film Gangster Squad starring and last year’s biopic Trumbo starring Bryan Cranston. This year, Big Jay partnered with producer Jürgen Engler for a set of new recordings in his classic style such as the Motown-esque “Love Will Never Fail” and the bluesy “I’ve Been Mistreated.” These songs demonstrate that even at 89 years of age, Big Jay McNeely can still blow them all away!

Those in need of a refresher about Big Jay’s history can watch this short promotional documentary film: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=whAxAIR2MD4

Catch Big Jay performing live at the Record Parlour on September 24!

Track List:
1. Love Will Never Fail
2. Love Is Stronger Than Hurt
3. My Love Never Ended
4. I've Been Mistreated
5. You Don't Have To Go Home
6. Party
7. Big Jay's Hop
8. Blow Blow Blow
9. Willie The Cool Cat
10. Rock Candy
11. Nervous Man Nervous
12. Get On Up & Let's Boogie

Buy the CD: http://flyt.it/BigJayMcNeelyCD
Buy the Vinyl: http://flyt.it/BigJayMcNeelyLP
Buy the digital version: http://flyt.it/BigJayMcNeelyDig

Facebook: Cleopatra Blues https://www.facebook.com/Cleopatra-Blues-584680441701352/?fref=ts

Youtube: Cleopatra Blues

Twitter: Cleopatra Blues
https://twitter.com/cleopatrablues ;

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Concert Review: Ace Frehley and SIMO

Ace Frehley Goes Space Truckin’ At The Colonial Theater
Opening Act SIMO Impresses Capacity Crowd
September 27, 2016
Pittsfield, MA.
                                          http://acefrehley.com

 
If you are Kiss fan you were at the Colonial Theater in Pittsfield Massachusetts on Tuesday night. To put it more succinctly, everyone there came to see Ace Frehley. He was the main talent in Kiss and everyone knows it, with the exception of some of his former band mates of course. This is my opinion and that of many others but as with anything else I am sure there are many people that would disagree.

Warm up bands can be a hit or miss proposition and in this case it was a shot that hit dead center for these ears and apparently the capacity audience. 
The band that came on to warm things up for Ace was SIMO, named after the lead guitar player and vocalist J.D. Simo.  This is a classic power trio that included the bass player Elad Shapiro and drummer Adam Abrashoff.  

Abrashoff had a minimal drum kit and what he accomplished with it was amazing. That is real talent when you take something small and make it sound so big. Shapiro is no slouch on the bass either, his fingers are a flash and he is the perfect companion to Abrashoff’s talents J.D. is a very innovative guitar player taking the nod from the blues and the psychedelic era of the 60s ala Hendrix. His voice is tremendously powerful as well.  I also heard plenty of Allman Brothers influence in their music. I could see they use vintage equipment as well to get their sound, obviously a very smart move on their behalf.


At the break I went out to meet J.D. and he confirmed the aforementioned
influences. The band hails from Nashville and they put on a great show. I also picked up their new release Let Love Show The Way on 180-gram vinyl, complete with a poster and download not to mention the retro artwork that acts as time machine (reflecting their influences).  It was priced right as well at $20.00.  I don’t think Ace could have asked for a better warm up band.


After the break the man of the hour arrived. This was going to be a great show; I could feel it in the air. Well, Ace did not disappoint.

I felt like that over energetic 17-year-old again going to see Kiss in the 70s at Springfield Civic Center. It was great to have those memories come rushing back. All you can do is smile inside when that happens. Ace has a great band to support his act and they made their way through 18 songs to rock the audience from start to finish.

Some of the highlights of the evening included the Thin Lizzy cover “Emerald,” “Parasite,” “Rock Soldiers” and an amazing version of the Kiss classic “Cold Gin,” which I thought was the best performance all night. The encore was superb as well capping off the night with “Detroit Rock City” and “Deuce.” 

I grew out of Kiss many years ago but occasionally listen to the first album and Ace’s solo work. People change, get older and some tastes do change however…once a rocker always a rocker. Seeing Ace live and hearing those songs again was a great experience and reminded of why I liked the music in the first place.

Ace is an accomplished guitar man and all of those skills were on display. Even the smoking guitar was present, which I was hoping to see again. If you want a rockin’ good time the ace in the hole, no pun intended, is catching this show live. 

There is something to be said about how this man has been underrated over the years and not given his due by critics and music industry folks alike. Ace Frehley gets my stamp of approval with no hesitation.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 29, 2016

Set List:
01. Rip It Out
02. Toys
03. Emerald
04. Parasite
05. Love Gun
06. Snow Blind
07. Sister
08. Rocket Ride
09. Bring It On Home
10. Rock Soldiers
11. Bass Solo
12. Strange Ways
13. N.Y Groove
14. 2 Young 2 Die
15. Shock Me
16. Cold Gin
Encore:
17. Detroit Rock City
18. Deuce


Wednesday, September 28, 2016

French Music Legends Magma To Perform With The Mëtalïk Orkestra At The Olympia In Paris - February 2 & 3, 2017!


Paris, France - Bands and trends might come and go, but some of it is meant to stay. Far beyond a mere jolt to the music world or a fad phenomenon, Magma imposed themselves as early as the 1970's thanks to their unconventional and cliché-free approach to music. An unparalleled music, which is as violent as it is clever. Founded by drummer and singer Christian Vander, the band quickly set itself apart from its contemporaries through heavy and ruthless polyrhythmic beats. With a wide range of contemporary musical greats at his side, Vander remains a fine mentor from the likes of Miles Davis.

Since its reunion in 1996, the band has gone on several tours, always followed by its ever-growing and loyal fan base, and attracting an increasingly young audience! The cult band celebrated its 40th anniversary with the release of two Classical influenced bright new albums in 2009 and 2012. For their 45th anniversary, Magma is back with two new opuses respectively titled "Riah Sahiltaahk" and "Slag Tanz", as well as a vinyl reissue of their whole discography. Since 2015, the band has been on a worldwide tour called "Le Tour Sans Fin". Magma's music is timeless.

At the Olympia, Magma will be supported by the Mëtalïk Orkestra, a new creation project. The ensemble will be performing selections from their extensive catalog including Emehntehtt-Ré and Slag Tanz. The orchestra is composed by 27 CMDL students (Didier Lockwood’s music school) and from the PSPBB of Paris.

Magma in concert on February 2nd and 3rd at the Olympia in Paris.
Information and reservation: http://www.gdp.fr/fr/node/77079

Website: http://www.magmamusic.org/fr/accueil/ ;
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MAGMA-123777837633298/?fref=ts ;
Twitter: https://twitter.com/MagmaOfficiel

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (US), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Audio Fidelity Inks Licensing Deal With Will Ackerman's West River Records



Ackerman's Grammy winning "Returning" coming on 180g vinyl for the 1st time!

Camarillo, CA - Marshall Blonstein, president of Audio Fidelity is pleased to announce an agreement with Will Ackerman and his West River Records. The agreement calls for Audio Fidelity, in conjunction with West River Records, to release the first 180g vinyl pressing of Ackerman's 2005 Grammy award winning recording, "Returning: Pieces for Guitar 1970-2004." Ackerman is universally recognized as the preeminent pioneer in the new age music movement, and the founder of Windham Hill Records.

In 2004, after years of growth and introspection, Ackerman re-recorded an album of his best-known songs. A greatest hits collection of all new performances.  The playing and recording of these New Age instrumentals are sharper now than on those original Windham Hill classics and Ackerman's most popular compositions have rarely sounded as poignant.

Blonstein felt one of the elements of working with Will Ackerman that would have great appeal to Audio Fidelity's music fans were simple words Will spoke at the time of the recording about why he wanted to make the album. "Today I'm recording in my own Imaginary Road Studios in Windham County, Vermont on utterly state of the art digital equipment. It all brings me closer to what I hear as I sit alone and play; touching the sound as it literally moves through my body as well as my ears. I guess I am trying to find a sound that lets you hear what I hear."

Will's goal was to take a series of 11 favorite songs and record them for posterity in a way that reflects the emotional nuances, precision, and maturing beauty they've picked up along the road. He includes the graceful and lushly melodic "The Bricklayer's Beautiful Daughter," the sweet and melancholy "Anne's Song", and two peaceful early gems from 1970, "Pictures" and "Barbara's Song." Some were written as celebrations ("Unconditional"), others as elegies ("The Impending Death of the Virgin Spirit"), but all are intricate snapshots of a vastly influential musical life that keeps inventive to this day.

ALBUM TRACKS:

SIDE 1
Bricklayer's Beautiful Daughter
Anne's Song
The Impending Death of the Virgin Spirit
Pictures
Hawk Circle

Side 2
Barbara's Song
Unconditional
Visiting
Processional
In a Region of Clouds
Last Day at the Beach

Will Ackerman official website: http://www.williamackerman.com/

For more information: www.audiofidelity.net

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

SACD Rock/Metal Review: Blue Oyster Cult-Secret Treaties

Release Date: September 9, 2016
Label: Audio Fidelity

I am big Blue Oyster Cult fan and have been since the 70s. Secret Treaties was my introduction to the band. I remember buying the LP and noticed that the cover was unusual. As it turned out the music was unlike anything I had heard before and I thought it was just as different as the cover. That was my first impression as a teenager exploring new music. As time passed I enjoyed the album more with each listen and it became and still is my all-time favorite BOC album. I cannot marginalize the importance of Agents of Fortune which comes in as a close second. That is the album that made them superstars worldwide. This is the album that laid down the foundation to build on their legacy.

Secret Treaties is and will remain a heavy metal classic. Every track is crystal clear and given new life in Marshall Blonstein’s Audio Fidelity SACD Hybrid Multichannel version. What I noticed right out of the gate was a significant boost in the prominence of the bass. Even though that happens the rest of the instruments do not take a back seat. With sound like this it is up to the listener and what they prefer to focus on, one instrument or everything happening at once. The normal process for me is to single out one significant change right away then like a quarterback with peripheral vision I flip a switch to surround sound listening. To completely enjoy the entire experience of this format I would highly recommend taking in everything that is happening. You can easily become immersed with all the sounds.

I know this album very well and that also helped in my recognition of any changes in sound and clarity. The mix is superb on this version of Secret Treaties. Every track is killer on the recording but there is one that became their epic classic along the lines of “Don’t Fear The Reaper.” “Astronomy” takes the band to new levels and it is a fantastic curtain closer. The track uses all the talents of every band member taking their sound and production to amazing heights that would lead them to recognition beyond their dreams. It starts off gentle enough then just builds and builds to an exciting climax. This is BOC’s finest hour and that one track is the icing on the cake that leaves you wanting to hit play over and over again.

“Dominance and Submission” and “Harvester of Eyes” are two other favorites of mine that are served well in the conversion of this classic recording.

This is a cannot miss bullseye to a rocker’s heart and soul. Secret Treaties was great music before it became an SACD but now more things are brought to light to give it that much more significance and value as one of the greatest rock/metal albums ever recorded.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Astronomy, Dominance and Submission, Harvester of Eyes

Tracks: 
1. Career of Evil
2. Subhuman
3. Dominance and Submission
4. ME 262
5. Cagey Cretins
6. Harvester of Eyes
7. Flaming Telepaths
8. Astronomy

 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 27, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By Write A Music Review

Monday, September 26, 2016

Hard Rock Supergroup HOLLYWOOD MONSTERS Unleashes A Brand New Album!


Los Angeles, CA - The hard rock supergroup featuring French vocalist and guitar phenom Steph Honde, who anchored the band of original Iron Maiden vocalist Paul Dianno, and drum icon Vinny Appice of Black Sabbath and Dio returns with a brand new album of killer tracks! Capture The Sun ups the ante of the band's highly acclaimed 2014 debut album offering even more killer riffs and outstanding songwriting as well as a superb cover of David Bowie’s “Sweet Thing/Candidate” from the glamtastic Diamond Dogs album. As always, this Hollywood Monsters joint features a TON of outstanding special guest performances including the likes of bassist Tim Bogert (Vanilla Fudge, Beck, Bogert, Appice), another Dio alum Tracy G, Whitesnake’s Neil Murray, Danko Jones, and many others!

Watch a video teaser of the album here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlB8KWKh_zo&feature=youtu.be

Track List:
1. Mysteries Of Life
2. Evilution
3. Always Crashing The Same Car
4. It's A Lie
5. Waiting
6. Don't Let It Happen
7. Another Day In Grey Part II
8. Everything Is Going To Be Alright
9. Dreams
10. King For A Day
11. Capture The Sun
12. Sweet Thing / Candidate / Sweet Thing (Reprise)
BONUS TRACK
13. Fool For Your Loving

Buy the CD: http://flyt.it/HollywoodMonstersSunCD
Buy the digital version: http://flyt.it/HollywoodMonstersSunDig

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025
www.CleopatraRecords.com

Instrumental Meditation Review: Hennie Bekker-Beyond Dreams-Pathways to Deep Relaxtion

Release Date: July 22, 2016
Label: Abbeywood Records
Hennie Bekker has a new release titled Beyond Dreams. As explained in the most clear and concise fashion on his website…it combines rhythmic entrainment with melodies that listeners can enjoy while preparing for sleep, meditating, or practicing yoga or general self-exploration. The album contains six tracks comprising sixty minutes of continuous music that is designed to help the listener achieve a deep state of relaxation.

Here is a definition of entrainment: Entrainment in the biomusicological sense refers to the synchronization of organisms (only humans as a whole, with some particular instances of a particular animal) to an external perceived rhythm, such as human music and dance such as foot tapping..

This is not a typical review that I would present. More importantly the music itself is the main tool to reach a level of consciousness that simply cannot be attained in normal daily circumstances. I think to single out any one particular track would not make sense in this case. The six tracks offered, seamlessly flow into another in effect taking six tracks and making it one. I took in this experience a little at a time then all at once. The influences can be significant dependent on your approach. 

Just taking in a track or two is relaxing however if you are looking for sustained focus the best way to enjoy this CD is to get into a comfortable quiet area and put the headphones on and some blinders and then take it all in. I found it to be a beautiful and relaxing experience having the aid of the music to remove me from the stresses and thoughts that were going on inside and around me (in a peripheral sense). The high point of stress and worry in my life found this experience to be timed just perfectly to use the tools before me.

The entrainment of your brain waves is the main objective of this music. We need to change the frequencies we are hearing to reset our thought patterns hence changing your overall attitude. It does work and I think what Hennie Bekker has presented here is a gift of music and an opportunity for healing and renewal. There is a lot of music I hear that serves this purpose but the difference here is the scientific aspect and the thought and care that went into how exactly this music will affect you.

This is definitely Beyond Dreams, it is reality, a reality that can change with a little help from Mr. Bekker. Even if you end up falling asleep while meditating there is a positive effect on your body, mind and spirit. The subliminal touches take over once you reach that plane of existence. Any way you look at it this is music that is helpful if you want to take the time to hear it and let your consciousness absorb it and process it.

Beyond Dreams is music that is multipurpose. If you just want to hear some good relaxing music it will serve the purpose, if you are looking for more, the options are there at your disposal.

4.5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: ALL

Tracks: 
1. Self Connect
2. Floating to Forever
3. Letting Go
4. The Calm
5. Quiescence
6. Beyond Dreams

 
Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 26, 2016
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews