Thursday, February 11, 2016

New Age-Jazz-World Instrumental Review: Todd Mosby-On Eagle Mountain

Release Date: April, 1, 2016
Label: Mosby Music Group
Website
As an introduction to this artist I had the pleasure of focusing in on one track on our Rate The Tracks site. “Spirit Dancer” is a multicultural brew of new age with some infusion of smooth jazz topped off by hints of world to make it a distinct crossover flight. 

As with many of the recordings at Will Ackerman’s Imaginary Road Studios, some familiar names are part of the equation. The incomparable Tony Levin and several others including Michael Manring, Jill Halley and Tom Eaton combined with the astute guidance of Ackerman make for an unbeatable team. They all draw out the very best from each other during a recording session.

“Eagle Mountain” in all its beauty and splendor pictured on the cover of this recording gets a proper introduction through the delicate and tasteful guitar playing of Mr. Mosby. The bass section is amazing as well and it all jells into auditory perfection.

The great outdoors can inspire and refresh when embraced and surely Todd is one such person. After listening to this music that one thought becomes reality. “Falling Light” dances and sings and turns into one of my favorites very quickly. It is nearly six minutes of musical enchantment. It builds and builds until you hear percussion, violin, guitar and bass all intersecting at the same point. I really enjoyed the way the track started with a simple foundation then built a towering monument of sound. As the sun rises over the mountain peak it falls onto the trees, animals, vegetation and people below. This is a beautiful thought process that becomes totally engaging once transferred to music.

I think the artist really gets in touch with his surroundings while recording this music and obviously could envision the places he held dear in his mind and heart. Instruments like the ewi, bells, singing bowls and English horn, cello and other elements make their presence known and are part of the final product.

Perhaps the deciding factor that made this entire listening experience coalesce for my ears and spirit was how Todd took his guitar and added all the other instruments to make On Eagle Mountain a delight to fall into, like your favorite comfy chair. This recording was like a culinary delight taking every ingredient and then measuring it properly to flesh out the sound for each individual track. Interesting enough the titles go very well with the music.

On Eagle Mountain took me down a road that made me feel alive and free just like the open sky and mountains ranges that adorn our land. Music that is that powerful needs recognition and validation. It was my pleasure to be one of the fortunate people to give all the credit to the creators of this superb release.




5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Spirit Dancer, Eagle Mountain, Falling Light

Tracks:
01. SPIRIT OF THE MOUNTAIN
02. SOARING 
03. EAGLE MOUNTAIN 
04. FALLING LIGHT 
05. COLORADO, MISSOURI 
06. JACK’S FORK 
07. SPIRIT DANCER 
08. ODE TO JOE
09. MOON SONG 
10. MOUNTAIN LULLABY
11. STAR SONG
 

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck- New Age Music Reviews Founder

February 11, 2016

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Female Powerhouse The Truebelles Kick Off With A Frisky First Single Release



Something tells me The Truebelles are here to stay . I was pleasantly surprised by this band and their latest offering ‘if your heart is there’. They are not your conventional girl band however they certainly know how to bring back girl power, something that seems to have died out recently, well not anymore. Their  new single is a perfect slice of DIY  pop with a cherry on top. With some tasty early-90’s old-skool pop  influences and a  winning formula to his sound, this track has its place in pop heaven 




The single ‘If Your Heart Is There’ is out on 12th February 2016.
Links:

Drum Legend Corky Laing Is Back On The Road!


NYC - The legendary drummer, Corky Laing, is back on the road with his first solo project since 1977. “Corky Laing plays Mountain” toured the UK in November 2015. Following an enthusiastic response from the UK audiences, he returns to Europe this spring. First up is a nine-day tour of Germany in February and in May he’ll be back in the UK. Corky is also locking in US dates starting with a package with Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience in Sag Harbor, NY in late February and with further dates for “Corky Laing plays Mountain” being scheduled for late May and early June.

After Mountain stopped touring in 2010, Corky has been busy with his one-man show, “Best Seat in the House” and the critically acclaimed “Playing God: The Rock Opera”. The Rock Opera has been performed in Basel, Switzerland, in Helsinki, Finland and last year it made its American debut with a sold out show at the Kaye Playhouse in the heart of Manhattan. This year the opera returns to Finland where, in addition to shows, it will be filmed for a video release.

Being back on the road with “Corky Laing plays Mountain” is a thrill for Corky. He loves playing the Mountain material the way it was originally written and says that behind the kit, in front of an audience, he feels like he is 18-year-old again. And from what the reviews say, the youthful enthusiasm is thoroughly reflected in the band’s sound and attitude.

For more information about Corky and his past, current and future activities (including updates on live performances), please visit:
http://corkylaingworks.com

Follow Corky on Facebook at:
https://www.facebook.com/corkylaing

Watch Nantucket Sleighride from the Corky Laing plays Mountain UK 2015 tour (London, 100 Club, 11/15/2015) here:


Corky’s 2016 tour schedule, as it now stands:

CORKY LAING plays MOUNTAIN – German Tour 2016
2/9/2016 Meisenfrei, Bremen
2/10/2016 Markthalle, Hamburg
2/11/2016 Roxy, Flensburg
2/12/2016 Kulturwerksta, Melle-Buer
2/13/2016 Beavers, Miltenberg
2/14/2016 Rock Jungfer, Arnstadt
2/15/2016 Kofferfabrik, Fürth
2/16/2016 Blues Club Chiemgau, Rimsting
2/17/2016 Harmonie, Bonn

THE ULTIMATE CLASSIC ROCK EXPERIENCE
Corky Laing plays Mountain & Kofi Baker’s Cream Experience
2/26/2016 Bay Street Theater, Sag Harbor, NY

CORKY LAING AND THE PERFECT CHILD – PLAYING GOD: THE ROCK OPERA
4/8/2016 Cultural Arena Gloria, Helsinki, Finland
4/9/2016 Cultural Arena Gloria, Helsinki, Finland

CORKY LAING PLAYS MOUNTAIN - UK tour 2016
5/6/2016 Talking Heads, Southampton
5/7/2016 Blues Festival, St. Ives
5/8/2016 Blues Festival, Frome
5/9/2016 Robin 2, Bilston
5/10/2016 100 Club, London
5/11/2016 Greystones, Sheffield
5/14/2016 Library Theatre, Darwen
5/15/2016 Blues Festival, Lincoln

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

French Music Legends Magma To Tour North America Spring 2016!


Paris, France - One of music's most innovative and eclectic ensembles Magma will tour North America beginning in March 2016! Swirling riffs in odd time signatures, theatrical choir arrangements, heavy and distorted pulsing bass guitar, bombastic and minimalistic (sometimes both at the same time), dark and brooding, adventurous and angelic, jazzy or classical, but always with the highly innovative and original drums of founder and main composer Christian Vander. On the forthcoming US dates the legendary ensemble will be performing selections of new and classic Magma music!

“MAGMA is happy to return to the United States to play for Americans. We know you are passionate, respectful and curious about music. We find you to be generous and open. It will be a joy for us to see you this year.” - Christian Vander

Magma was founded in Paris in 1969 by Christian Vander, who derived his inspiration from a "vision of humanity's spiritual and ecological future" that profoundly disturbed him. Vander was a self-taught musician, who received some tips from drum legend Elvin Jones. In the course of Magma's first album, the band tells the story of a group of people fleeing a doomed Earth to settle on the planet Kobaïa. Later, conflict arises when the Kobaïans, who are descendants of the original colonists, encounter other Earth refugees. A distinguished aspect of Magma's music is that Vander actually invented a constructed language, Kobaïan, in which most lyrics are sung. Later albums told different stories set in more ancient times; however the Kobaïan language remained an integral part of the music. Reportedly, Christian Vander is also highly influenced by the work of jazz legend John Coltrane. “For my work, it is still Coltrane who actually gives me the real material to work on, to be able to move on.,” says Vander.

Clearly Magma is one of the most influential of all French bands. They have left a legacy of music that defies any of the standard and convenient classifications of rock, operating instead in a realm of their own creation. It waits to be discovered by new converts, and continually by older fans alike!

Magma:
Christian Vander :  drums, vocals
Stella Vander :  vocals, percs
Isabelle Feuillebois :  vocals, percs
Hervé Aknin : vocals
Jérôme Martineau:  Fender Rhodes
Benoit Alziary : vibraphone
Jim Grandcamp:  guitar
Philippe Bussonnet :  bass

Magma US tour dates w/special guest Helen Money

March 15 - San Diego, CA at Brick By Brick - https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1050007
March 16 - Los Angeles, CA at The Regent - https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1051495
March 18 - San Francisco, CA at Great American Music Hall - https://www.eventbrite.com/e/magma-gamh-whelen-money-tickets-20525684876
March 19 - Portland, OR at Wonder Ballroom - http://bit.ly/MAGMAwon2016
March 20 - Seattle, WA at Crocodile - https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1049861
March 22 - Denver, CO at Gothic Theater - http://www.gothictheatre.com/events/detail/306226
March 23 - Cleveland, OH at Beachland Ballroom - http://www.ticketweb.com/t3/sale/SaleEventDetail?eventId=6435075&pl=beachland&dispatch=loadSelectionData
March 25 - Chicago, IL at Reggies - https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1050071
March 26 - Chicago, IL at Reggies - https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1050083 
March 27 - Austin, TX at Mohawk - https://mohawk.queueapp.com/events/17011
March 29 - Atlanta, GA - TBA
March 30 - Philadelphia, PA at Underground Arts - http://www.ticketweb.com/t3/sale/SaleEventDetail?dispatch=loadSelectionData&eventId=6470355&pl=uarts
April 1 - New York City at Le Poisson Rouge - http://lpr.com/lpr_events/magma-45th-anniversary-tour-april-1st-2016/
April 2 - Toronto, ON at Opera House - https://www.ticketfly.com/purchase/event/1057787

For more information: 
Magma official website
http://www.magmamusic.org
Magma official Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/MAGMA/123777837633298?fref=ts
www.youtube.com/user/MagmaOfficialTV

Seventh Records:
http://v2.seventhrecords.com/en/
magma.officiel@gmail.com

North American Booking:
http://www.nanotear.com

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Metal Review: A Sound of Thunder-Tales from the Deadside

Release Date: September 25, 2015
Label: Mad Neptune Records
Website

Like a train made of adamantine and traveling faster than the speed of sound, A Sound of Thunder seems to be one metal band that cannot slow down or be stopped.  I became aware of them in 2012 with Out of the Darkness and was continually impressed with 2013’s Queen of Hell and Time’s Arrow and 2014’s The Lesser Key of Solomon.  The latter two are masterpieces as far as I am concerned, and it looks like we have another one in Tales from the Deadside.

Hailing from the Washington D.C. area, the band is comprised of Nina Osegueda (vocals), Justin Schwartz (guitar), Chris Haren (drums), and Jesse Keen (bass).  


Tales from the Deadside is their fifth album that is also a concept album based on the comic book character Shadowman.  It is a dark and bizarre journey that is not just worth the time, but it also represents A Sound of Thunder’s most ambitious and best effort to date.  It is one more masterpiece in an already impressive collection.

Tales from the Deadside gets off to a fantastic start with “Children of the Dark.”  It is one atmospheric and haunting song that is the first stop on this dark and exhilarating ride.  The vocals are in nothing less than top form and the guitars absolutely sizzle.  It is one of those songs that once you hear it, then you just cannot wait for the next song because you know that it is going to be good.  And “Sandria (Carry On)” proves this to be correct as it is a great song that gets better and better as it goes on.  It starts of slow and enticing, before kicking it up a couple of notches. Nina’s voice on this one is chilling.  There are some hair-raising moments that are sure to keep bringing you back for more.

Next up is “Can’t Go Back,” which beings with some sweet rhythmic drumming that pull the listener in.  It is all very heavy and melodic, as Nina’s vocals soar above it all for another stellar performance.  “Deadside” is an all-around great song from start to finish, with its sultry bassline running throughout this hard rocking tune. The dark and brooding first half is followed by an even more incredible second half, like two halves of a gothic dream.  It is a testament to the strength of this album that it just missed out on being a key track. That is because “Tower of Souls” is there to take its slot.  It is pure intensity for the very beginning, like an adrenaline shot to the heart. It is the type of song that could raise the dead.

“Losing Control (The Unquiet Shadow)” features more of the crushing metal sound that gives this album its heaviness.  The most energetic and pulsating song on the album, “Punk Mambo,” is an uncompromising rocker that really gets the blood pumping and the head banging.  Showing off some musical versatility is the emotional “Alyssa (Life in Shadows).” “Tremble” and “End Times” bring it on home with a loud and an entrancing ending, and fantastic performances that leave it all on the floor.

A Sound of Thunder’s Tales from the Deadside is a fun and an incredible album.  They have been able to surpass their previous effort once again.  It seems that they are amassing a discography full of masterpieces.  Tales from the Deadside is no exception and is as good as any place to start from if you are new to their music.  After this album, I cannot wait to hear from them again to see what they can come up with next.  

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Children of the Dark, Tower of Souls, End Times


Tracks:
 

01. Children of the Dark
02. Sandria (Carry On)
03. Can’t Go Back
04. Deadside
05. Tower of Souls
06. Losing Control (The Unquiet Shadow)
07. Punk Mambo
08. Alyssa (Life in Shadows)
09. Tremble
10. End Times


Brian McKinnon - Write A Music Review Sr. Staff

February 9, 2016

 


Saturday, February 6, 2016

A Little Faith Will Carey A Dream

 By Katharine W. Poole
For Women of Music Music of Women





Eileen Carey has learned to Let It Go, the title and title track of her latest CD shares a wisdom, philosophy and joy of life.  It is a unique project, that contains both a re-release of one of her prior songs and several covers. “Don’t get me wrong (Chrissie Hynde) was first aired in in Europe and went well there.  [I will be ] interested to see how people take to it in the states. Only the lonely, (Martha Davis) is already getting airplay in the States, as is her third cover, the popular 80’s Katrina and the Waves: Walking on Sunshine ( Kimberly Rew.)
Her music is currently popular with AAA (Adult Album Alternative) and AC/HotAC (Adult Contemporary) in states.

It is unusual for an artist to re-release a song from a prior album and promote it with a fresh video, but this time it works. The thought behind re-mixing and re-releasing - Faith - was a plan in poignancy.  “We had other cuts.  We kind of forgot about it.  It wasn’t a topic every one was talking about.  I don’t know why we were overlooked. It was the wrong timing?  But, They are now [talking about the message of Faith.]  It was a pretty- throw the spaghetti on the wall [decision.]”  And a good one.  The song is currently charting on New Music Weekly’s Top 10 Country Charts at #1 and in the top 10 of the AC Charts at #2.  It landed me the TV show.” Eileen is referring to a guest appearance on LA’s The Weekend Morning Show KCAL-TV, CBS, which aired January 10th.

Faith was a re-inspired project that sparked all of Eileen’s talents and skills.  She not only sings and plays in the video, she helped to create every aspect of it. “I found a director - we talked about the story line - beginning to end we worked together.”  She does this because she has the background and experience to do just that.  “I don’t have the editing skills, but I can visualize the story.” In that way she crafts the vision of her lyrics.

Growing up in Ohio, Eileen experienced the arts in the way small-town American parents
want to keep their kids busy and engaged.  From theatre class and performance, to choir practice and more, she was emerged and active at a young age.  At one point, her parents actually bought her a drum set - something she laughs about.  Though she was quite accomplished, it did not turn out to be her ultimate goal in music.

Her parents were also realists, and instilled in Eileen that music wasn’t a way to earn a living, so she attended business school with a focus in food and beverage.  She was successful at an early age, working for Sheraton Hotels in management.  Eileen moved up the ladder rapidly and inevitably her job took her to LA. In the midst of working in the entertainment capitol, Eileen realized she did not want to be serving the entertainment, she wanted to be the entertainment. So with the support of her husband, she quit.

“I was driving home after working a 15 hours day…I realized I did not want my life to be this.  I was in my late twenties.”   She left the grind and never looked back. “I worked part-time for a bit.  But,” she emphasizes, “I was married.  I was lucky.  My family is supportive of my music.  My husband is very successful in the restaurant business…he could support us.”  So, she started voice lessons and took songwriting workshops, and began a strong career of not only singing and songwriting, but production, direction and acting.  

Eileen was initially highly interested in being a director.  She directed stage plays in LA, but soon learned it is tough to make a living with live theatre in that town.  “It’s television and film mostly.  I never saw myself in front of camera.  I always saw myself behind it, so I
focused on production.” Eileen eventually ended up acting, but put the majority of her efforts into music.  It paid off.  Her extensive background in performance along with her business school corporate experience came together to create a strong package.  So Eileen could forge her own path in the music industry, having a hand in all aspects of her career.  She kept writing, performing, networking, met producers and ran tracks.

Her original goals were that of most performers.  “I wanted to be a star.  You always want to be that but reality kicks in and you have to find where you fit in.  Not every one can be a superstar - BUT - you can make a living at it.  You have to go 100 percent in your niche.”  Eileen is a true believer in - you get back what you put in.  Hard work pays off.


Her own focus continues to develop even at this point in her career.  “I enjoy it all performing, studio, tv, recording, putting the words on the page.  It’s a long process.  It takes a while - people don’t understand.  Every step is cool.  And it’s a great accomplishment to get to the end [of a project.]”  She’s very grounded in her view of the profession.  “I don’t worry about being a famous star.  I worry about getting the words out on the page.  I have to do research.  I’m very visual - visualize it.”  She is also a proponent of collaboration.  “Co-writers keep me in reality.  I love working with others  and I feed off of them.  I just like working with people.” 

Eileen started out as an Adult Contemporary artist, but shifted gears when approached by Gene Kennedy of Door Knob records.  Mr. Kennedy believed they could promote her music in the Country market.  He was right.  It hit the top 20 on the Country Music Radio Chart.  Proving herself as a crossover artist was a big step for Eileen.  Her combination of Pop and
Rock influences with Country flair, made her a fit for both the West Coast and the Southern music scene. She traveled between LA and Nashville, building her connections and fan base.  And so began her love affair with Music City. “Nashville is the Music Capitol - quaint - down home - makes you feel welcome.  It’s like coming home.”  It was a welcomed respite from the continuous drive of LA.  She found a working balance tying together two major music environments with very different vibes.


Success was a lot of work.  There were frustrations.  “Country made it difficult for women to be on charts.  For a while there was a large group -“ she points out Reba McEntire, Trisha Yearwood and Faith Hill, to name a few.  “All those strong women disappeared.”  She notes we still have strong women, but not as many getting airplay.  She speaks briefly to the theory that “men pull in more dollars on charts in radio,” and reflects - “Maybe it’s harder for women to play the game.  Women are less visible - they are there but mostly in duos and trios.” At one point Eileen thought about creating a radio station dedicated solely to women artists in country music, and a chart just for women.  “You look at the [recent] charts - all guys who sound the same - look same.” She notes the baseball cap trend; the current style of not only Country Music but Country Fashion. 

The reality of the music scene is especially challenging for women.  It is not just a culture of artistry, but a culture of sales.  Eileen stresses that women need to be particularly strong and stay true to themselves. “LA is different because you have a lot of pop artists…They always want to sell sex.  If they don’t, the album wont be that great or get played.”  But she is a firm believer that there is equal ownership perpetuating this directive.  “We [women] put ourselves in that position a lot of the time.  We need to make a change.  Intelligent women put themselves through that to then [ultimately be able] to do what they want. Look at what Lady GaGa had to do first to get to the position where now she can do what she wants. That’s business.”

She believes this will change.  “There will be a wake up call to not exploit yourself.  It’s ok to clean up and not strip down.  As a woman you need to make the decision how much you want to give up of your self.” Eileen describes this as: A balance of responsibility.  “Stand up and say you don’t want to be exploited.  Do it yourself!”  And to those in charge of music airplay, she simply says:  “If you don’t put them on the radio you’ll never know…” 


She’s been through it all, and though there have been mostly good experiences, she like all

artists had a few bad ones that taught her valuable lessons. The worst?  “A club in the West End - I think it’s closed now.  The owner booked me, but his audience didn’t like what I was doing.” True to the researcher she is Eileen confesses: “From now on I check out places.  Just ‘cause owner likes you doesn’t mean audience will. They wanted traditional.  It was a learning experience.  They were rude - they didn’t throw a tomato at me - but wanted me off the stage.”

Eileen pushed through the challenging moments, having faith in herself and her talent. This drive continues to pay off. When she was thirty a producer in Nashville told her “You’re too old.  Go home.” Now that same producer is a huge supporter of her music. Her fan base and professional connections led to a marriage of bi-coastal recording.  All her albums start in Nashville with the partners of Travis Allen (Producer - Nashville Tracks) whom Eileen has worked with on four albums over 13 years.  The initial tracks are laid in Nashville with studio musicians - the vocal and background recordings, mixing and mastering are completed in LA. To Eileen this is the best blend of both her worlds. It comes together to combine what she describes as: “West Coast Country” - a blend of Pop, Rock and Country.

Eileen gets the best of both worlds working between California and Tennessee.  “LA - It’s the movie town, the glitter, stars, fast paced, fun and exciting.  Nashville is exciting too in a different way…both offer two different things.”  She points out that Nashville now has entered the movie business as well; the two towns are linked by more than just music.  Those connections are a good thing for an entertainer like Eileen.  “To me my songs are like mini movies.  I don’t write about myself really. I write about everything around me.  People in my life, family, friends, things I observe.  I try to find a balance [through them.]”


Eileen performs in Nashville three to four times a year, focusing on radio tours and local gigs.  She is a regular at the CMA Fest, due to the diligent support of her PR person Susan Collier.  “So many good things every time. I’m always being welcomed from radio, places I play, people I work with.  It’s always exciting.  At the Tootsie’s booth, fans come back and bring pictures to sign and talk about the last time they saw me.  The fans make my day always.”


Eileen loves her work, and it surprises her.  “I did not expect awards - never expected to be even nominated.  I put my heart in sole in it.  If I just to get someone’s attention for three minutes, then I’m doing my job.  It’s nice to be acknowledge - I never expected it.  It’s exciting.  I would like to be thought of for Grammy - sure!” she laughs.  “But I love inspiring fans.  Awards are a nice pat on the back.”

She is inspired by the people around her. “I surround myself with friends and family.  I’m a people watcher.  Musicians who inspire her are Keith Urban, Sheryl Crow, The Beatles; she is influenced by her love of 80’s music. “All kinds of music inspires me in different directions.  I enjoy entertainment across the board.  Even the news - I watch the chaos and pull out something positive.”   “When I get on stage I’m at home.”

Currently in the studio Eileen is working on her next project.  “We are in pre-production - tracking Friday - hopefully ready for CMA.” How will the material differ from Let It Go?  “I don’t think it will be too much different. Maybe I’ll twist it up a little bit.  The message? I don’t like telling others what to do cause no one will listen to me.  [It will be] always positive music with a little twist.” There is a lilt of slyness in her voice as she adds, “I can’t give away my secret - my secret recipe.”

The final questions posed to Eileen (inspired by James Lipton’s approach to interviewing for Inside The Actor’s Studio.)
1 In one Word describe Nashville:  “Home.” She says with ease, and adds: “It feels like I’m always going home.”
2 Your favorite food experience in Nashville: “Chago’s Mexican Restaurant. We go there every time I’m in town.”
3 One word that describes your music style: “Country-Pop-Rock"
4 Who is the one person you want to meet in Nashville: “Keith Urban”
5 If you could ask (him/her) one question what would that question be: Her answer is more of a wish, less a question: “I’d like to write a song with him.  He has a positive attitude on things - at least when I read his lyrics or listen to his music.”
6 What is your favorite Nashville venue: “I’d have to say it’s still, The Bluebird.”
7 Your favorite lyric from a song you wrote: She pauses. “Can I email that?  I need to get back to you on that. I can think about other people’s songs…  You stumped me.” she laughs.  Eileen emailed the next day: “Deep inside their eyes there’s a story lying - And deep inside their hearts there’s no denying”  From her song Hearts of Times, because every person has a story behind their eyes and a heart to back it up.

At the end of our conversation, she offers up a few words of advice… “Never tell Nashville people you are from LA.” She laughs.  “I’ve started telling them I’m from Ohio.”  She gets a much better reaction that way.  Her serious advice is simple: “Be true to yourself.  It will all follow through.  Bottom line,” she repeats, “Be true to yourself.”  And…Have a little Faith.  It’s certainly worked for Eileen.


Eileen Carey will be performing in Nashville in June and will be at the Tootsies booth for her annual appearance at CMA Fest - until then you can check her out and purchase her album Let it Go at eileencareymusic.com

Women of Music Music of Women is an alliance for women in the music industry to network, support, promote, and recognize the many talented women in the industry by bringing them together with all aspects to include artists, attorneys, agents, managers, artist development, label execs, publishers, media, songwriters, past present and future talent to discuss and address the issues that concern women in the industry.
Like our FaceBook page: Women of Music Music of Women – you may promote yourself
Gig Swap: Group: WMMW Gig-Swap request to join Group to interact and share gigs
Contact us at wmmwusa@yahoo.com . You may also summit material for consideration to be a featured artist to wmmw@nashvillemusicguide.com
*The material included in this article is the sole property of the writer, (Katharine W. Poole,) and the photographer and President/Founder of WMMW, (Cilene Bosch.)  All elements may be used in other publications as determined by the owners. Permission must be obtained for reproduction.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

R & B, Folk, A Cappella Review: Sweet Honey In The Rock-#LoveInEvolution

Release Date: January 22, 2016
Label: Appleseed Recordings

Sweet Honey In The Rock has recorded several releases and the latest is #LoveInEvolution.

The best way to describe this talented group of ladies is to share what is on their own website as follows:
Sweet Honey In The Rock® is a performance ensemble rooted in African American history and culture. The ensemble educates, entertains and empowers its audience and community through the dynamic vehicles of a cappella singing and American Sign Language interpretation for the Deaf and hearing impaired. Sweet Honey’s audience and community comes from diverse backgrounds and cultures throughout the United States and around the world, and includes people of all ages, economic/education/social backgrounds, political persuasions, religious affiliations, sexual preferences and differing abilities.

Music is all about culture and transcending any barriers that are in place in other settings, it is universal and spiritual. The lead off track “Somebody Prayed for Me” is deep in the roots of spirituality and church choirs you find rejoicing and singing around the world. It is moving track that gets your feet tapping and it immediately fills you with positive energy and joy.

“The Living Waters” is marvelous a cappella workout. This is a powerful message about our environment and how we are destroying it…ignoring all the truth and signs right in front of us. What a great showcase of amazing voices taking you through a journey that delivers a wakeup call to all of us. This is how you reach people clearly through music that is quite frankly, hard to ignore. 

What I like about this album is that all the ladies take their turn with lead vocals and the others join in to make their sound complete. While the music is a perfect backdrop in their tracks some do not require any music because their voices alone are instruments that hold you spellbound. A good example of that is “I Don't Want No Trouble at the River (featuring "When Great Trees Fall").” This band of women with a purpose does everything with meaning and very distinctly, there are no secret meanings in the words, it is all very clear. Their music is a true work of art.

“A Prayer for the World: Song 23” takes a familiar passage from the Bible and turns it into a funky high stepping spiritual meets R & B exercise led by a walking and grooving bass line. I thought the combination of the old and new was refreshing and a joy to hear. This is all the ladies in their element bending and stretching out their vocal prowess with some great music alongside that puts the proverbial icing on the cake.

I love this music and everything it stands for - the culture and all the colors of music and tradition falling into a melting pot of artistic expression. It is unique in a world full of loops, noise and repetitive music that seems to be getting way too much attention. This is the kind of music that will be appreciated for the complete package it delivers to your senses in its entirety. You don’t have to be only a music to fan to understand what is going on here and the time and energy that goes into such incredible sounds. Appreciating good work and the humanity and spirit that is involved is what makes this project something special.

5/5 Stars

Key Tracks: Somebody Prayed for Me, The Living Waters, A Prayer for the World: Song 23

Tracks: 
01. Somebody Prayed for Me
02. The Living Waters
03. I Don't Want No Trouble at the River (featuring "When Great Trees Fall")
04. A Prayer for the World: Song 23
05. This Place Inside Where I Can Rest
06  Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)
07. Oh, Sankofa
08. Second Line Blues
09. Wholy Holy
10. Same Ol', Same Ol' Love
11. IDK, But I'm LOL!
12. Operator/Jesus on the Mainline/I Don't Know What You Come to Do
13. Sweet Sweet Honey!
14. We Have Come This Far by Faith

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck- Write A Music Review Founder
February 4, 2016
Review Provided By Write A Music Review