Thursday, April 27, 2017

Keyboard Legend Don Airey Launches His Pre-Sale Campaign on PledgeMusic For "K2 - Tales of Triumph And Tragedy" Limited Edition Box Set!


London - Deep Purple and rock keyboard legend Don Airey has launched a pre-sale campaign on PledgeMusic for a very special limited edition Deluxe Box Set of his solo album “K2 - Tales of Triumph & Tragedy,” to be released on Gonzo Multimedia in June 2017!

“K2” was recorded in 1988 at Sarm East Studios, London, and originally released worldwide on MCA Records. An article written by mountaineer Jim Curran about his harrowing experiences on the 1986 expedition to K2 that claimed the life of 12 climbers inspired it. The music was completed after Don met Jim at his house in Sheffield where he talked of his friends Al Rouse and Julie Tullis, who both died in a blizzard at the summit having become the first UK climbers to conquer the peak.

The album also features guest appearances by Gary Moore, Cozy Powell, Colin Bluntstone, Chris Thompson and others!

There will only be 100 of this deluxe Box Set manufactured and each will contain a signed and numbered certificate. There will also be additional signed items and exclusive merchandise as part of this pre-order campaign.

“You are going to get something that will please everyone and hopefully you'll like the music too!” - Don Airey



Box Set Content
CD (includes 7 previously unreleased bonus tracks)
DVD
Signed and Numbered Certificate
Repro Press Pack
Repro Promo Photo
A4 Map of K2

For more information and to pre-order please visit this PledgeMusic link:
http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/donairey

About PledgeMusic:
PledgeMusic is the leading global direct-to-fan platform dedicated to empowering artists, labels and brands to build communities, fund and pre-sell recordings, and provide unique experiences and exclusives throughout the entire music production and promotion lifecycle. PledgeMusic was named as one of The World’s Top 10 Most Innovative Companies of 2015 in Music for “Helping artists and fans get what they want”. – Fast Company

Don Airey's official website: http://www.donairey.com/

Gonzo Multimedia: http://www.gonzomultimedia.co.uk/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, April 24, 2017

Instrumental New Age Review: Tony Chen-The Mighty Heroes (英雄神威)

Release Date: March 24, 2017
Label: Tony Chen Music

Tony Chen puts things into proper perspective on his website regarding his new release The Mighty Heroes. He says it in such an elegant and distinct manner that it needs to be heard.

Chen: This album comprises creations from 2014 to 2016, encompassing a variety of styles that reflect the path I have walked during this time. You will experience melodies and musical arrangements from both East and West, taking you to different realms.

 I could not have said it any better than the artist. Tony is not a newcomer; this is his fourth release. The title of album is a direct reflection of the music. It all sounds so grandeur, proud and cinematic. I would put the emphasis on cinematic as I could see it easily being a movie soundtrack to an epic film. Well at least the first three tracks paint that kind of picture in your mind’s eye. 

"The Mighty Heroes, "Memory of Time-Space" and "A Merry Pace" are befitting their titles. All three get the listener excited and mesmerized, as one would be watching a fast moving and important scene in a movie. I do not want to put Mr. Chen’s music in a box and call it soundtrack music but it sure would make a great backdrop for the right motion picture. And that is not all, “Will You Hold My Hand?” walks down a different path of peace and beauty, the parallel world of the previous tracks. This provides a listener with a definitive change of pace and an understanding of the abilities of the artist to be diverse and expressive as much as one can from one track to the next. Tony has the talent to pull off the big changes with his keyboard prowess.

The music on The Mighty Heroes lends itself to the human condition and the many changes one can experience during a 24-hour period. The textures, atmosphere and colors created expresses everything the artist indicates on his website and as I noted.

The many flavors of cultures worldwide are touched upon, the far east, our western hemisphere and the traditional music combined with the elements of new recording technologies initiates the formation of each track.

I appreciated the value and worldliness that the artist could convey throughout his music. Our world becomes one when we listen to music. The internet can have the same effect on us all just as the music does. With all the negative things that go on in our world and a tool like the internet to reach a wider audience we have the artistry, pageantry and good vibes of music from people like Tony Chen that can change things for the positive. 

Although I appreciated the slower paced and more simplistic tracks and always do, I enjoyed the faster paced and more picturesque tracks on offer in the collection even more. It reminded me of some of the greats that came before Tony like Vangelis. If you like a mixture of instrumental music with a contemporary approach and new age foundation, then you will enjoy what The Mighty Heroes delivers.


4.5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 24, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. The Mighty Heroes
02. Memory of Time-Space
03. A Merry Pace
04. Will You Hold My Hand?
05. A Nostalgic Melody
06. Glorious Celebration of Heaven & Earth
07. Flower Scent
08. Taste Asia - Delicious Chinese Cuisine
09. Heavenly Elegance
10. A Nostalgic Melody (Piano Solo)
 

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Rick Wakeman Launches Pre-Sale Campaign on PledgeMusic For “Crimes of Passion” Limited Edition Deluxe Box Set


London - Keyboard legend Rick Wakeman has launched a pre-sale campaign on PledgeMusic for a very special limited edition Deluxe Box Set of his soundtrack “Crime of Passion”.

Originally released in 1984 “Crimes of Passion” was directed by Ken Russell and starred Kathleen Turner, Anthony Perkins, John Laughlin and Annie Potts. The film explores themes of human relationships and mental illness. A mix of sex and suspense.

“Working with Ken Russell was not only a highlight in my musical life but also a great learning time for me as well….Ken truly understood film and film music like no other. He knew what he wanted, but after telling you then expected you to take his ideas to another level.

“He was always involved and came to stay with me during my writing period. He would listen and make suggestions. He would always be complimentary if you did something he really liked and if he felt something wasn’t working musically he would discuss it with you and explain what he needed for the film.

“I learned so much from Ken and to this day I feel it is a tragedy that in his later years film companies didn’t give him more opportunities to show off his talents.

“ 'Crimes of Passion' is a much deeper film than it has ever been given credit for. It took many years before 'Lisztomania' became cult and recognised for the clever film it was and I class 'Crimes of Passion' in a similar way…

“With every film Ken ever made the viewer and listener has to immerse themselves into every crevice of the work and may take multiple viewings before his genius is truly absorbed.” - Rick Wakeman, New York April 2017

There will only be 250 of this deluxe edition manufactured and each will contain a signed and numbered certificate. There will also be additional signed items and exclusive experiences as part of this pre-order campaign.

Box Set Content:
CD
DVD/BluRay
Signed / numbered Certificate
8 x Repro Lobby Cards A6
Repro Japanese Press Pack
A3 Repro poster
Repro Press Release

Release date 2nd June 2017

For more information and to pre-order please visit this PledgeMusic link:
http://www.pledgemusic.com/projects/rick-wakeman-crimes-of-passion

About PledgeMusic:
PledgeMusic is the leading global direct-to-fan platform dedicated to empowering artists, labels and brands to build communities, fund and pre-sell recordings, and provide unique experiences and exclusives throughout the entire music production and promotion lifecycle. PledgeMusic was named as one of The World’s Top 10 Most Innovative Companies of 2015 in Music for “Helping artists and fans get what they want”. – Fast Company

Rick Wakeman's official website: http://www.rwcc.com
(Catch Rick on tour with YES Featuring Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman - http://www.yesfeaturingarw.com/)

Gonzo Multimedia: http://www.gonzomultimedia.co.uk/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158 (USA), glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

The Strawberry Bricks Guide to Progressive Rock Revised and Expanded Edition by Charles Snider to be Released April 22


The definitive record guide to the progressive era of rock music, Strawberry Bricks presents a standard discography of music from artists around the globe. Beginning in 1967 and continuing through 1982, a generation of musicians took rock music in directions unforeseen as they charted what would become known as progressive rock. This edition also includes exclusive interviews with a host of musicians of the era, providing proof that progressive rock was indeed the music of a generation. From art rock to krautrock, from England to Germany to Italy and all across Europe, Strawberry Bricks offers a candid reappraisal of rock's most cerebral genre.

The book also includes exclusive interviews from the following artists, about their early life and how they began their music careers: Dave Lawson (Web, Samurai, Greenslade), Martin Barre (Jethro Tull), Christian Grumbkow (Hoelderlin), Derek Shulman (Gentle Giant), John Wetton (Mogul Thrash, Family, King Crimson, UK, Asia), David Jackson (Van der Graaf Generator), Pye Hastings (Caravan), Hugh Banton (Van der Graaf Generator), Gigi Venegoni (Arti e Mestieri), Hartwig Biereichel (Novalis), Ciro Perrino (Celeste), Michael Rother (Neu!, Harmonia), Joachim “Eroc” Ehrig (Grobschnitt), Rich Williams (Kansas), Steve Hillage (Khan, Gong), and Lutz “Lüül” Ulbrich (Agitation Free, Ashra).



The Strawberry Bricks Guide to Progressive Rock
Revised and Expanded Edition
• The definitive Progressive Rock record guide
• Reviews of 476 albums from 1967 - 1982
• 632 pages
• Exclusive interviews with 16 artists from the era
• Fully edited, proofread and fact-checked

“Navigating the topographic oceans, surviving the brain salad surgery and in general making sense of the dense, incredibly ambitious, and so often misunderstood or unfairly denigrated genre of progressive rock is a difficult task, but Charles Snider accomplishes it with the insight of the very best rock critics combined with the infectious enthusiasm of the most devoted fans.” - Jim DeRogatis, Music Critic & co-host of Sound Opinions

“Charles Snider has an encyclopedic knowledge of progressive rock, and has accrued one of the world’s most formidable record collections. No one is better equipped to write the definitive discography of this rich genre of music.” - Jonathan Schang, District 97

“Charles Snider's Strawberry Bricks record guide is accessible, comprehensive, and indispensable. A great read and an excellent resource.” - Will Romano, author of Close to the Edge: How Yes’s Masterpiece Defined Prog Rock & Mountains Come Out of the Sky

The Strawberry Bricks Guide to Progressive Rock is the definitive record guide to the classic progressive era of rock music. Beginning in 1967 and continuing until 1982, the book presents the progressive rock canon, set in the presentation of a timeline. This new edition extends the timeline into the early 80's, to offer a more natural conclusion to the progressive era, as well as offering a broader selection of albums from the era.

Secondly, beginning with a database of the birth years of musicians in the timeline, the book offers that what we now know as “progressive rock” is in fact the music of a generation. The statistics play out: the median birth year for the “progressive artist” is 1947, with a standard deviation of +/- 3 years.

Says Charles, “I’ve also conducted many interviews with artists from the era, and 16 of these appear in the book. The premise was to study their early lives, from birth through the late 60's and very early 70's, to find the commonalities that these men experienced. The newly written Prologue offers a historical perspective of the pretext to the progressive era, beginning post-WWII, while the Epilogue offers a current perspective on progressive rock since the early 80's.

“I've also spent a good deal of time fact-checking every detail in the book, including song titles and artist names. Further, this edition has been professionally edited and peer reviewed, all to make this as exacting and rewarding a book as the music it covers. Strawberry Bricks is another narrative on the classic era of progressive rock, one with hopefully a novel and candid outlook on the genre, its albums and the men that made it one of the most interesting chapters in rock's history.

“The cover is an image of the vinyl record grooves on Jethro Tull's Minstrel In The Gallery album. Enjoy the music!”

About the Author:
Charles Snider has been collecting records since the early 70's, amassing one of the most complete archives of what is known as progressive rock. “One of my earliest memories of vinyl was The Beatles' 'Paperback Writer' b/w 'Rain.' I can remember turning the balance knob to isolate the sounds within the stereo mix, and just being fascinated with the tones of the instruments.” Snider's self-professed passion for the music “archaeology” continued over the decades, branching out to many other genres of music. “In the early 90's, Kevin Eden and I curated the WMO label, with the cooperation and support of Wire. The CD was a new format, and we released a lot of hard to find records, as well as unreleased archival material and two very good tribute discs.” Upon moving to Chicago in 2000, he began writing the first edition of The Strawberry Bricks Guide to Progressive Rock. “I've always loved record guides. Certainly, Ira Robbin’s Trouser Press was the prototype, but growing up in the 70's with magazines like Circus, Creem and of course Rolling Stone, I've always enjoyed the passion writers convey about music.” While not listening to prog rock, Snider can be found blogging about personal technology or cheering on the Chicago Blackhawks.

The Revised and Expanded Edition of The Strawberry Bricks Guide to Progressive Rock is released on Record Store Day, April 22nd, 2017. Available direct from http://strawberrybricks.com/the-book, and from Amazon.com (including UK and EU). Published by http://www.strawberrybricks.com/ via CreateSpace.com, an Amazon company.

For more information: http://www.strawberrybricks.com/

Press inquiries: Glass Onyon PR, PH: 828-350-8158, glassonyonpr@gmail.com

Monday, April 17, 2017

New Age/World Review: Monk Party-Silence Flooded Trance

Release Date: August 27, 2016
Label: Purity Productions

Monk Party are a father and son duo Pragunya and Nelson Myers-Daly. They follow the Sri Chimnoy school of thought. Chimnoy held public events such as concerts and meditations on the theme of inner peace while advocating a spiritual path to God through prayer and meditation.

Silence Flooded Trance is their second release. Since I have decided to take a deeper dive into this type of music I have come to the realization that it has no bearing on what language they happen to be using when singing. It is the music that carries the weight of their message on a universal level. There is a reason it is labeled as “World” music. This gradual belief that has come to life for me is once again the proof that music has no lines in the sand, no boundaries to consider. The only boundaries that have been in place my entire life where self-imposed. Now I am listening like an open door that brings about endless possibilities for spiritual and personal growth.

There is a purposeful slow pace to this recording and it is a simplistic scaled down sound with a focus on some gorgeous harmonizing from the synchronized father and son team. Their vocals are most definitely one of the featured instruments with this presentation.

I found this music very spiritual and relaxing. It is a tool to be used as you see fit. How this tool fits you can be something very personal and the only way to find out is to listen. That is the beauty and freedom of music, and that is a guarantee every time you decide to listen.

Silence Flooded Trance gives you some insight into what you will hear on this album. You will be in silence while listening and then find yourself in a trance flooded with gentle and warm sounds. In total, this is exceptional music that is divinely inspired.

If your mind is open and your heart true, then proceed to give this album your full attention. You will have a sense of calmness and oneness with the holy spirit in short order. It is a refreshing break from daily life that comes filled with tasks and energy sapping situations at times. This is a chance for renewal of mind, body and spirit.

For those of you that are curious the artist was kind enough to provide some translations of some of the tracks.

Track 1: Aum Shivaya Namaha -
I prayerfully bow
To the Lord Shiva,
the Silence-flooded Trance.

Track 2:
Immortality-Light 

Track 4: Sabar Katha
Inside the deep heart of the blue sea you shall find me /
I prayerfully bow
To the Supreme Lord
who pervades the entire Universe. 

Track 6: Aum Sate Namaha
I prayerfully bow
To the One who is Infinity’s pure existence

4/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 17, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks: 
1. Aum Shivaya Namaha
2. Sabar Katha  
3. My Sweet Lord's
4. Inside The Deep Heart
5. Jedin Ami    
6. Aum Sate Namaha
7. Bahudin Pare
8. Ami Kandibona
9. Sabiy Madhur

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Bobby Kimball, Original Singer of TOTO, Returns With New Album “We’re Not In Kansas Anymore”


Los Angeles – Legendary Bobby Kimball, original singer of TOTO, returns with a very special new studio album “We’re Not In Kansas Anymore”. The highly anticipated new album will be released on Purple Pyramid Records on April 21, 2017.

Says Bobby, “As artists and musicians we live our lives chasing a dream … the dream of expressing ourselves through the songs we create and sing. I surrounded myself with some of the best session players and songwriters in the business, and I feel you can hear and sense that when you listen to the music. To my fans … I hope that I delivered an album that can be part of a songbook for your life, as it is for mine. God Speed.”

Kimball's music remains unmistakable - melodious rock with polyphonic arrangements and a great sound, and his distinctive voice is simply inimitable! Reteaming with producer John Zaika, WNIKA features stellar performances by drummer Joel Taylor, keyboardist Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater, Black Country), Mitchel Forman and more!

Says John Zaika, “I produced and co-wrote a project with Bobby Kimball in 1999, 'All I Ever Needed.' We've stayed in touch ever since. When the opportunity to write and produce a second project for this incredible singer and artist came along, I was excited to be involved. I knew it needed to have great songs, sound fresh, and stand out in today's music world. So, as a team, we pushed hard to create a project that crosses over genres without sounding disconnected. I sought out some of the best musicians in the industry, worked with top engineers to help fulfill the experience, and we created a wonderful team with myself, Bobby Kimball and Dave Barnett here at Future Memories Music.”

Track List:
1. Too Far Behind
2. On My Feet
3. Hey It’s Me
4. One Day
5. Flatline
6. Met Her For
7. Hold On
8. Scam
9. You’ll Be With Me
10. Some They Do
11. Your Not Alone

Buy the CD: https://cleorecs.com/store/shop/bobby-kimball-were-not-in-kansas-anymore-cd/
Buy the digital: https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/album/were-not-in-kansas-anymore/id1219794834?app=itunes&at=1000lt9k

Also check out Kimball’s recently released collection of session work “Mysterious Sessions” featuring three TOTO megahits plus songs by Pink Floyd, The Beatles, Aerosmith, Journey including an unreleased cover of Level 42's "Something About You!!” The album also features guest appearances by Mike Porcaro (Toto), Nektar, Billy Sherwood (Yes), Patrick Moraz (The Moody Blues), Tony Kaye (Yes), Alan White (Yes), Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater) and others!

Buy “Mysterious Sessions” on CD: https://cleorecs.com/store/shop/bobby-kimball-mysterious-sessions-cd/
Buy “Mysterious Sessions” on digital: https://geo.itunes.apple.com/us/album/mysterious-sessions/id1201910690?app=itunes&at=1000lt9k

Bobby Kimball's official website:
http://www.bobbykimball.com/

Press inquiries:
Glass Onyon PR
Billy James
PH: 828-350-8158
glassonyonpr@gmail.com

CLEOPATRA RECORDS, Inc.
11041 Santa Monica Blvd #703
Los Angeles CA 90025


www.CleopatraRecords.com
Facebook @Cleopatrarecords
Instagram @cleopatrarecords
Twitter @cleopatrarecord
Youtube @Cleopatrarecords
Soundcloud @cleopatra-recs 
Dailymotion @Cleopatrarecords 
Vimeo @cleopatrarecords 
Spotify  @cleopatra_recs
Linkedin @cleopatra-records

New Age/Contemporary Instrumental Review: Richard Dillon-The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless

Release Date: March 17, 2014
Label: Independent
Richard Dillon is a firmly established artist with 8 previous recordings behind him. The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless was my introduction to his solo piano journeys.

Piano music is one of the most relaxing and mind emptying music I know of. I am the type of listener that is open to hearing just about anything. A lot of what I enjoy is very complex however on the other end of the spectrum I have a tremendous love for simplicity and pure beauty.

What I discovered on The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless is everything I enjoy about an instrumental new age/contemporary listening experience. The pace and approach is gentle yet inviting. It kind of feels like you are in slow motion falling into a bed of feathers or floating on a cloud. You can visualize these things just as you start listening and it’s not hard to make it all real with the help of this beautiful guide we call music. This can be your own “Chicken Soup for The Soul,” or your “Chop wood, gather water” kind of outdoor spiritual connection that the people who founded this great land of ours had.

As the title indicates this can be directed at children and adults alike. Regardless of age, we all do respond to colors, aromas and sounds. I think music has the power to create different experiences for the senses and it can be used for meditating or just to have on for some nice background music because it does not demand your attention or sound intrusive, it puts you at ease and relieves tensions. There are all sorts of therapies and drugs out there for relief of many problems and ailments but the one thing that remains more powerful than them all is music.

When I listen to music like The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless I am inspired to write about all these thoughts and feelings that the music helps me to realize. It is engaging as a lively conversation, although it is best to have it on an internal and spiritual level if you need healing. I am far from being listless but if you are this music will remove that condition in relatively short period.

One track seamlessly flows into the next like water from the roots of a tree to the leaves, bringing life and color to them all. Unequivocally music can have the same effects and meaning to a listener ready to receive it.

The Land of Nod Lullabies for the Listless is unencumbered art in motion, it is one man and a piano bringing these beautiful sounds to life with keystrokes that are channeled through him. I am continually amazed at these gifted individuals that bring me such peace and joy. This is musical perfection; a once empty canvas is now full for all to enjoy.

5/5 Stars

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
April 11, 2017
Founder of:

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews

Tracks:
01. The Land Above the Sky
02. No More Tears
03. Jouet Triste (Sad Toy)
04. Rocking Chair
05. Kainehe (Whispering Sea, Rumbling Sea)
06. Marmalade Skies
07. Sea of Forgetfulness
08. La Luna (The Moon)
09. Looking Glass River
10. My Bed is a Boat
11. Shadows on the Wall
12. Papillon (Butterfly)
13. The Land of Nod
14. Moonrise
15. Sleepyhead